Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research on the subject of anthropology:
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAccessScience is an online resource that contains material covering all major scientific disciplines, including links to primary research material, videos, animations, and curriculum maps for teachers. The McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms is also integrated into the search function.
- eBook Collection from Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new windoweBook Collection from Taylor & Francis offers a comprehensive eBook collection that delivers more than 12,000 references in over 350 subject areas and more than 40 collections. Includes ENGnetBASE
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowMathSciNet, from the American Mathematical Society (AMS), offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
- Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection of full-text, scholarly journals and eBooks in science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
- Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
Google Scholar
It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask a librarian (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.