Counseling - Field Experiences
This guide has been designed specifically for students in the Counseling Field Experiences.
Diagnosis
The diagnosis section is intended to give you a deeper understanding of diagnoses as listed in the DSM 5. Once you have used the DSM to determine your client's initial diagnosis, you can use this section to learn more about the specific diagnosis.
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of psychiatric references, including books, journals and self-assessment tools. Provides access to the DSM-5. The following journals are available through this database: The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, and The Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences.
- PsycINFO - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowFrom the APA, contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines
- PsycEXTRA - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the APA; document types include technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, and consumer brochures
- PsycARTICLES - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowFrom the APA: a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology
- PsycBOOKS - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowPsycBOOKS includes the newest APA published scholarly and professional books including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology Series that delve deep into specific subfields within psychology. Essential to education, research and teaching across the behavioral sciences, PsycBOOKS is an indispensable resource for every psychology program.
- Health & Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowHealth and medical full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and specialties
- Health and Wellness - Gale This link opens in a new windowComprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Including Alt Health.
