Counseling - Field Experiences
This guide has been designed specifically for students in the Counseling Field Experiences.
Special Populations Resources
The special populations section will help you understand the needs of specific categories of people. If you are working with a criteria-limited population, this section can help you discover the unique needs of that population.
Suggested Databases
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIndex to magazines and scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals on growth and development of children through the age of 21
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCoverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare
- LGBTQ+ Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more.
Sample e-Books About Counseling with Special Populations
The Elements of Counseling Children and Adolescents by ISBN: 9780826129994Publication Date: 2014-10-01
CBT with Children, Young People and Families by ISBN: 9780857027283Publication Date: 2012-12-26
Treating Complex Trauma in Adolescents and Young Adults by ISBN: 9781412981446Publication Date: 2011-08-26
The Handbook of Child and Adolescent Psychotherapy by ISBN: 9780415463683Publication Date: 2009-08-03
Recommended Websites and Videos
- Video: Family Therapy This link opens in a new windowFamily therapist Vince Hesketh describes how family therapy works and its desired outcomes. When used for children with behavioral problems, the goal is to reduce symptoms and uncover and resolve family system breakdowns.