Skip to Main Content
Accessibility Information

Citing Your Sources

This guide is intended to help you cite sources, avoid plagiarism, learn about citation styles and available citation tools, and more.

RefWorks

RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool that is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. You can access RefWorks on the A - Z Database List.

With RefWorks you can:

  • Gather references automatically from article databases and indexes while you research
  • Insert formatted references into your paper in a variety of styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.)
  • Format your footnotes and bibliographies
  • Create a personal research database online 
  • Store and organize references that are accessible from any computer linked to the Internet
  • Search a wide variety of article databases and import references
  • Share references with others
  • Download and use Write-N-Cite

First Time Users

When accessing RefWorks This link opens in a new window, new users need to create a username and password. Please use your SNHU email as that will alert RefWorks that you are affiliated with the University. We recommend setting your password to be the same as your my.snhu login for ease of use.

Help Using RefWorks

An overview of features and help can be found on the RefWorks Help Page This link opens in a new window. Visit the RefWorks Video Tutorial page This link opens in a new window to view helpful short videos on this product.

Questions about RefWorks can be directed to Instructional Support at instructionalsupport@snhu.edu. 

FAQ's Using RefWorks

How do I save full-text documents or citations to RefWorks?

With a single click! Install the Save to RefWorks This link opens in a new window add-on or bookmarklet to your internet browser, then click it when you're on a web page or journal article you'd like to save. We'll even try to grab the full text with it's available. 

I write in Word / Google Docs, can RefWorks help me cite or create a bibliography?

Yes! If you write in Word, go to the Tools menu This link opens in a new window and download Write-N-Cite. ProQuest has a help guide on using Write-N-Cite This link opens in a new window.

For Google Doc users, our add-on gives you the full power of RefWorks right within Google Docs. Visit the RefWorks for Google Docs page This link opens in a new window to learn more.