Skip to Main Content
Accessibility Information

Citing Your Sources

This guide is intended to help you cite sources, avoid plagiarism, learn about citation styles and available citation tools, and more.

What is a Citation Management Tool?

A Citation Management Tool is software that helps store, organize, and format citation information. It can generate reference lists, bibliographies, and in-text citations in various styles (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago). Some tools also assist with annotated bibliographies, research organization, and more.

As with any tool, there are benefits and drawbacks to using citation management tools that you should consider:

Benefits:
  • Allows users to store and organize citation information, bibliographies, etc.
  • Allows for quick processing of bibliographies, in-text citations, etc.
Drawbacks:
  • May contain errors--users still need to proofread and correct citation information, bibliographies, etc.
  • May not include every citation style or up-to-date information

RefWorks

RefWorks is an online citation and research management tool that helps you gather, store, organize, and share information while generating citations and bibliographies. You can access RefWorks on the A-Z Database List.

With RefWorks you can:

  • Automatically gather references from databases
  • Insert formatted citations in various styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.)
  • Format footnotes and bibliographies
  • Create a personal research database accessible online
  • Import references from article databases
  • Share references with others
  • Use RefWorks Citation Manager in Word

Getting Started with RefWorks

Access RefWorks on the A-Z Database list and follow the steps to create an account using your SNHU email to confirm your university affiliation. For convenience, use the same password as your my.snhu login.

Help & Support

FAQ's Using RefWorks

How do I save full-text documents or citations to RefWorks?

Install the Save to RefWorks browser add-on, then click it when viewing a webpage or journal article you would like to save. RefWorks will even try to save the full text when available. Visit the Connecting RefWorks to Browser help page This link opens in a new window to learn how to install the browser add-on.

Can RefWorks help me cite or create a bibliography in Word/ Google Docs?
Yes! In Microsoft Word, go to Add-Ins > + More Add-ins, search for RefWorks, and install it. View the RefWorks Citation Manager Help Guide This link opens in a new window to learn more.

RefWorks has an add-on that integrates directly with Google Docs as well allowing you to cite as you write. Visit the RefWorks for Google Docs page This link opens in a new window to learn more.