Citing Your Sources
Citing Business Sources
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) citation guidelines are the standard used in Southern New Hampshire University's business programs. This guide uses APA Style's 7th edition and provides guidelines and examples for resources found in Shapiro Library business databases and a few other common business resources.
Many business databases have non-standard types of information, like tables, charts, datasets, and more. The following general guidelines provides a citation structure that can be used for most business databases:
General Example
Author, A. (year). Title of resource [Descriptive text if needed]. Database name. URL
General Guidelines
- If no individual author is named, use a corporate author (the company, association, or group responsible for the content on the page).
- If the name of the corporate author is the same as the database name, you do not need to repeat the database name.
- If no publication date is provided, use the standard abbreviation (n.d.).
- If the content is designed to change, like financial data that is updated regularly, use a retrieval date in your citation.
For citing resources from article databases like ABI/INFORM or Business Source Ultimate, please refer to standard APA Style guidance on citing journal articles.
Specific Examples
Check out the document below for citation examples from some of the Shapiro Library's commonly used business databases, as well as some common internet resources. Please note that the APA style manual does not provide examples for every single type of resource, so these examples have been adapted or interpreted from official APA guidelines.
Citing Legal Sources
Most citation styles defer to the Harvard Law Review Association's Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation for citing legal sources, including court cases, legislation, executive orders, constitutions, and other legal or legislative materials. Please refer to the citation resources listed below for specific guidance for citing legal sources in the citation style required for your assignment.
Citation Resources
- Academic Writer - APA This link opens in a new windowAcademic Writer, from the American Psychological Association, is designed to support the development of long-lasting writing skills. Developed by the creators of APA Style®, this powerful resource guides users who have questions about how to conduct research, structure their papers, and format what they write. Academic Writer’s self-paced learning modules, reference building tools, and guided writing center support libraries and writing centers to facilitate academic success by training students to build a strong writing foundation.
Learners can create an account with their SNHU email, or use their existing SNHU APA account, to save their work. - MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new windowThe go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources is now available online through the Shapiro Library. MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the second editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as video courses.
For more help with MLA citations along with tips and tricks try our MLA Citation guide - Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Chicago Style, currently in its 18th edition, is a citation protocol established by the University of Chicago. Chicago Style is most often used in the disciplines of history and religion. For more information about this style read the FAQ: What is Chicago style or format?
