GLS 470 - Writing the Research Paper
This guide will help you identify and locate the resources (books, articles, etc.) that you will need for GLS 470. There is also information available on library services, tools, and other web resources to help you write your papers, and more.
Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications.
Here is a list of recommended databases for getting started with your research in GLS 470:
- Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost is a customizable search of full-text articles and abstracts of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. You can select the EBSCO databases that you would like to search at the same time and click continue.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Gale This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for information on social issues.
Google Scholar
It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask a librarian if you need more help.