English as a Second Language (ESL)
Finding Journals
You can also look for specific journals by title, ISSN, subject or association or browse by subject by using our Periodical Finder.
Databases for Newspapers
Check out the following databases where you can find news articles:
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep archives and the latest stories. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures. The Company Dossier module also allows you to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present. Nexis Uni is the new platform to replace LexisNexis Academic, which has been phased out by the vendor.
- Newspaper Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSelected full-text for regional, national and international newspapers and television & radio news transcripts
- Regional Business News - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCoverage of U.S. business journals, newspapers and newswires
- NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Shapiro Library also subscribes to the current year of the Union Leader in color which includes ads
- News & Newspapers - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires
Where to Find Scholarly Articles
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications.
Here is a list of recommended databases for getting started with your research in EFL 501:
- Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies.
Databases for Choosing a Topic
If you need help choosing a topic or need a good overview of an issue try:
- CQ Researcher - SAGE This link opens in a new windowReports that explores a single current issue in the news in depth. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Gale This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for information on social issues.
Google Scholar
It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Before you search in Google Scholar, be sure to Connect Scholar to the Shapiro Library databases. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask the library (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.