Skip to Main Content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

ENG 123 - Composition

This guide will provide links to library resources, services, and databases that support online students' research for this course.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context


The Opposing Viewpoints in Context database covers current controversial social subjects, with articles that offer informed, differing views on both sides of each issue. Opposing Viewpoints In Context can be found on the A - Z Database List from our library homepage. Once you are on the A-Z Database List, look to find the A-Z letters running across the middle of the page and click on the letter "O". You'll see Opposing Viewpoints listed there.

Opposing Viewpoints has broad coverage for topics that are current social issues, and is best suited for topics in the fields of business, economics and politics, but other subject areas are represented as well.

Here is a video tutorial that gives you a brief tour of the database and walks you through a sample search.

Searching in Opposing Viewpoints


There are two ways that you can search in Opposing Viewpoints. You can do a keyword search using the white search box at the top of the page. See our Search Tips page for tips on keyword searching.

You can also use Opposing Viewpoints' Topic Pages, which bring comprehensive topic overview essays and expert, scholarly content together into one place. Click on the "Browse Issues" link in the upper left corner of the Opposing Viewpoints home page to bring up the full list of Topic Pages, and look for one or two that encompass your essay topic. For example, if your topic is gun control, you may want to check out the pages on Gun Control, Gun Violence, and Concealed Carry. There is a small "Search within page" search box on the right side of each Topic Page that you can use to conduct a more focused search with your keywords.

Resources within the Opposing Viewpoints database are organized by content type: Viewpoints (which are opinion-based essays), Academic Journals, Newspapers, Statistics, etc. If you wish to limit your search to just scholarly articles, use the resources in the Academic Journals section. In the Viewpoints section, there may be some scholarly resources, but not all of them are! Check the source citation at the bottom of each article for more information about it. If you need any help or suggestions, don't be afraid to Ask a Librarian for help.