More Help

Effective Reading Tutorial

Check out this video tutorial for help developing effective reading strategies:

Glossary of Library Terms

Use this glossary of common library terms to familiarize yourself with some of the words and phrases you may hear or see while searching in library resources or speaking with a librarian. For a more extensive glossary, check out Library Lingo from Colorado State University.

Glossary of Library Terms
Term	Definition
Boolean Operators	Words like AND, OR, and NOT which are used in database searches to help narrow down or broaden search results. For more information on Boolean Operators and Boolean Searching (that is, searching using Boolean Operators),see: FAQ: What is boolean searching and how can I use it?
Call Number	A series of numbers and letters that are assigned to each library material. Call numbers are used to organize and categorize library materials so that materials on similar topics will be found near each other on the shelves. FAQ: What is a call number?
Citation	The basic information about a material such as title, author, publisher, etc.
Database	A collection of sources available and search-able online. Databases can include journals, ebooks, reviews, government documents, and more. Some databases are very subject specific (they only include sources about one or two subjects) while others can be very broad (they include sources about a number or all subjects). A-Z Database List.
Full Text	The entire article or material.
Interlibrary Loan	A service whereby patrons can request books, articles, and other materials from other libraries. For more information, check out the Interlibrary Loan page.
Journal	A periodical which is usually more scholarly than a magazine. Journals may or may not be peer-reviewed.
Magazine	periodical which is less scholarly than a journal.
Online Book Catalog	Shapiro Library's online system for helping patrons find books and other library materials. Specifically, the online book catalog helps patron's find materials that are physically owned by the library, but some electronic resources can be found using the online book catalog as well. Online Library Catalog to view the Online Library Catalog.
Peer Reviewed	Journals or other materials which have gone through a rigorous editorial process by subject experts. Journals or other materials which are peer-reviewed are scholarly. FAQ: What is a peer reviewed journal?
Primary Source	An original material or first-hand account. FAQ: What is a primary source?
Secondary Source	A material which is once-removed from a primary source; a second-hand account or critique of an event or topic. FAQ: What is a secondary source?
Stacks	The main bookshelves in the library.

Adapted from:
Lederer, N. (2013, July 23). Glossary of Library Terms. Colorado State University Libraries. Retrieved January 18, 2014, from http://lib.colostate.edu/howto/gloss.html

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free cooperative service between libraries that provides current SNHU students, staff, faculty, and faculty emeritus access to books, articles, and other materials that Shapiro Library does not own.

Please follow these steps to request a book, book chapter, or article the library does not own through Interlibrary Loan:

Log in to your Interlibrary Loan account using your MySNHU username and password.
In the Interlibrary Loan Main Menu, choose the type of item you want to request: book, article or book chapter, or other.
Fill out the request form with a clear citation. The more accurate the information you provide, the faster you will receive your item!
Click "Submit Request." You're done! You will receive an email when your item arrives.

For more information, please view our Policies and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).

Mango Languages

Mango Languages
Mango uses real-life situations and actual conversations to more effectively teach a new language. By listening to and repeating after material designed from native conversations, you'll not only learn the individual words and phrases, you'll know how they're used in practical situations and conversations. You'll learn more than grammar, vocabulary and conjugation, you'll learn how to communicate. Once in Mango you can create your own profile to track your progress!

To access Mango Languages from the library homepage, click the "Find a Database or Electronic Resource" link near the middle of the page. You'll then be taken to a page with alphabetical tabs across the top where you can search for databases by name. Choose "M" and find "Mango Languages" on the list.

Troubleshooting & Accessibility

Are you having trouble accessing library resources? Try one of the following resources to help you troubleshoot the problem and get assistance:

Tools for Taking Notes

Tools for taking notes can help you record, organize and manage notes for class and projects. Try one of the following tools for taking notes:

Flash Card Makers

Flash card makers can help you organize and keep track of notes or presentation topics, study vocabulary, math, etc. and more. Try one of the following flash card makers: