Reference Resources

Research Tip:

Reference books are generally considered tertiary sources and are authored by consulting secondary sources. Reference resources work well as an introduction to topic but provide only basic facts and information and not the more detailed analysis you will find in secondary sources like books and articles. While appropriate for researching basic information for the initial stages of research, these sources are tertiary sources and not appropriate for actual historical research or the development of assignments.

Consult the databases under the Articles tab to conduct the bulk of your research.

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Covers all aspects of 19th century history: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life, and foreign policy are explored in A-to-Z articles.
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era 1760 - 1850
In analytical articles, this work explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century.
Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World
Examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources.
Encyclopedia of the Alamo and the Texas Revolution
"Remember the Alamo!” is a phrase that is woven into the American consciousness, but what do most people really remember about the Alamo? Much of the true story has been shrouded in myth for over 150 years. This comprehensive encyclopedia provides thorough coverage for people, places, events and issues spanning the pre-Revolution period and settlement of Texas by Americans to the forming of the Republic in 1836.
The New Encyclopedia of the American West
This authoritative, comprehensive encyclopedia is a rich source of information about the American West, real and imaginary, old and new, stretching from coast to coast and throughout the country’s history and culture.
The Reader's Companion to American History
Offers entries covering the critical events, issues and individuals that have shaped American History.
The Chronology of American Literature
The Nationalism and Romanticism section of this book offers an authoritative reference and an ideal browser's guide in outlining the indispensable information in America's rich literary past - from major publications to lesser-known gems - while also identifying larger trends along the literary timeline.