Core History Journals
- The American Historical ReviewPresents articles, review articles, substantial numbers of book reviews and lists of recently published books in all areas of American history.
- Comparative studies in Society and HistoryForum for presentation and discussion of new research into problems of change and stability recurrent in human societies through time or in the contemporary world.
- Environmental HistoryPresents international articles that portray human interactions with the natural world over time.
- The Hispanic American Historical ReviewArticles on all aspects of Latin American history, extensive numbers of book reviews and lists of recently published books.
- History and theoryArticles, review essays and summaries of books in the areas of critical and speculative philosophy of history, historiography and history of historiography, historical methodology, critical theory, time and culture and related disciplines.
- The Journal of African HistoryResearch and reviews on all aspects of the African past aimed at a general readership submitted in either English or French.
- Journal of American HistoryFeatures a variety of pieces that deal with every aspect of American history, including state-of-the-field essays, broadly inclusive book reviews, and reviews of films, museum exhibitions, and Web sites.
- Journal of Interdisciplinary HistoryArticles, review articles and reviews on interdisciplinary history.
- Journal of Modern HistoryArticles, review articles and book reviews in all areas of modern history published in cooperation with the Modern European History Section of the American Historical Association.
Articles from scholarly journals, trade journals, and magazines
The following databases contain articles in scholarly journals written by experts in their fields and are available 24/7 on campus and off campus by remote login.
- America: History & Life - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles in magazines and journals covering history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- History Reference Center - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowDesigned for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research, this database features full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - U.S. History In Context - Gale This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 5,000 primary source documents, full-text articles drawn from top periodicals and newspapers, thousands of images, videos, and audio selections.
- Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
- Periodicals Archive Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOnline periodical archive covering the arts, humanities and social sciences. All journals are indexed from vol.1 Issue 1.
- Project MUSE (Standard Collection) This link opens in a new windowWe have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Shapiro Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
- Dissertations & Theses Global - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of more than 1.6 million entries with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It contains the same information as Dissertation Abstracts with the addition that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
Search for a Specific Journal
The Periodical Finder let's you search the library's online collection for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper to see if it is available electronically. Alternatively, the Periodical Finder can be browsed by subject - history related journals.
The tutorial below will show you how to use the periodical finder to find a specific journal.