HIS 605 - Cold War and the American Empire
This guide contains library resources and the required readings related to the Cold War period that has been defined by America's ideological conflict and proxy warfare with the Soviet Union and it's ripple effects in this country and around the world.
Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research on the subject of Early American Encounters:
- Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
- America: History & Life - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles in magazines and journals covering history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Dissertations & Theses Global - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of more than 1.6 million entries with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It contains the same information as Dissertation Abstracts with the addition that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - New York Times (Historical) - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowDigitized articles from the New York Times from 1851 - 2020. Looking for the most recent NYT editions?
- Periodicals Archive Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOnline periodical archive covering the arts, humanities and social sciences. All journals are indexed from vol.1 Issue 1.
- Project MUSE (Standard Collection) This link opens in a new windowWe have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Shapiro Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
- ProQuest (ProQuest Central and Primary Source) This link opens in a new windowProQuest includes all ProQuest Central databases as well as many primary source databases. If you would like to access ProQuest Central only, you can do so at the following link: ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window.
Google Scholar
It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Before you search in Google Scholar, be sure to Connect Scholar to the Shapiro Library databases. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask the library (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.