MKT 265 - Social Media and Marketing Communications
Searching for Advertisements
- AdForum Creative LibraryDatabase of advertisements in a variety of media
- iSpot TVSearchable database of television commercials. Free content includes listing of the number of times an ad has been aired and the last date, time, and channel.
Reference Books
The One Show - Circulation Collection: HF 5816 .O5 Oversized
Directory of Advertisers – REF HF 5805 .S7 2012
TV Dimensions 2011 – REF HF 6146 .T42 T8 2012
Magazine Dimensions 2011 – REF HF 6105 .U5 M23 2012
Intermedia Dimensions 2011 - REF 5813.U6 I58 2012
National TV ACES - REF HF 6146 .T42 N38 2012
Internet Advertising 3.0 - REF HF 6146 .I58 I582 2010
Standard Rate and Data Service ( SRDS ) REF HF 5905 .S7_ _
TV Ratings
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch in the "Search The News" box for the name of your television show along with a term such as "viewers" or "rankings" to search for news stories that give ratings information.
Other Forms of Advertising
- Clear Channel OutdoorEstimates rates for billboards, posters, and other outdoor advertising.
Spending on Advertising
- SRDS Media Planning Platform This link opens in a new windowThe leading provider of media rates and data. Library subscribes to: Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source; and Interactive Advertising Source. Access Note: The database has a concurrent user limit. If you can't access SRDS please try again later. The Claritas 360 Platform can only be accessed via the latest 2 versions of Google Chrome.
- Advertising Insights (Vivvix) This link opens in a new windowAdvertising Insights is a tool that allows you to view a top-level summary of the multi-media advertising marketplace. Advertising Insights monitors advertising expenditures and occurrence information for 3+ million brands across 18 media. PLEASE NOTE: This resource only allows a limited number of users at the same time. If you are unable to access this resource, please try again later or take a look at eMarketer.PRO or the resources available on the Advertising Research Guide.
- eMarketer.PRO This link opens in a new windoweMarketer provides access to market data, reports and analysis, company information, and more.
- Capital IQ (Standard & Poor’s) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
S&P Global Market Intelligence combines broad data, powerful analytics, and deep sector intelligence. Includes company profiles and financials of both public and private companies, in-depth global data for 17 industries; 7 industry-specific financial statement templates, and more. NOTE: All users must register for accounts to use this database. Read this FAQ for more details on how to create an account. Need help using the database - check out the Academic Resource Center.
Reference Book Content Samples
- Magazine Dimensions [pdf]Magazine Dimensions provides information and insights about how magazines bond with their readers, audience profiles, reach, CPM and ad impact.
- TV Dimensions [pdf]TV Dimensions covers the use of various television formats to advertise to the public. Some of the topics covered include: viewing patterns, reach and frequency, programming appeals, and commercial impact.
- Intermedia Dimensions [pdf]Intermedia Dimensions facilitates the process of making intermedia comparisons and identifies what various interactions of media mixes can generate for advertisers. It includes measurements on demographics, CPMs, reach, frequency, timing, and more.
Calculating Newspaper Ad Cost
SRDS frequently provides cost information for newspaper advertisements by the "column inch." To determine the number of column inches first count the number of columns your advertisement is wide (Most newspapers have a total of 6 columns on a page. Smaller format papers and tabloids might be 5 columns wide). Next get a ruler and measure the height of your ad. The example below is 5 columns wide and 18 inches tall. Multipy these two numbers to get the column inches: 5 X 18 = 90 column inches.
5 columns X 18 inches = 90 column inches
Next determine the cost per column inch of your newspaper under the "Rates and Policies" section of the paper's entry in SRDS. Note that there may be discounts available for running multiple ads and upcharges for features such as color, inclusion in the Sunday paper, or placement of the ad in a certain section of the paper. Below is the information for the New Hampshire Union Leader.
90 column inches X $51.15 per column inch
+ $725.00 for full color = $5,328.50
Assuming that the advertiser above did not get a discount rate they would have paid $51.15 per column inch plus the cost of color to run this ad one time. The full cost is 90 column inches times $51.15 per column inch plus $725.00 for full color (3 c = 3 color printing). 90 X $51.15 + $725.00 = $5,328.50 to run this ad once.