EFL 501 - Language, Learning, and Acquisition
Key Journals
Use our Periodical Finder to check for available journals and magazines; database location; and dates covered with full text content.
Where to Find Scholarly Articles
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications.
Here is a list of recommended databases for getting started with your research in EFL 501:
- Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowQuality research in areas related to communication and mass media
- ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and abstracts from education-related journals and document published by ERIC.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies.
Databases for Choosing a Topic
If you need help choosing a topic or need a good overview of an issue try:
- CQ Researcher - SAGE This link opens in a new windowReports that explores a single current issue in the news in depth. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Gale This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for information on social issues.
Google Scholar
It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Before you search in Google Scholar, be sure to Connect Scholar to the Shapiro Library databases. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask the library (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.