IDS 403 - Technology and Society
History
To get you started in thinking how your topic might be looked at through the historical lens, let's use the topic of the Endeavor space exploration in September of 1992. Learning more about the topic and about Mae Jemison, the first African American woman in space aboard that mission, is vital to building a strong understanding of the event. This understanding will help you determine what avenues to explore inside of each lens. A tertiary resource like the encyclopedia articles Space program (linked below) in the Reader's companion to American history This link opens in a new window and Endeavour In The Hutchinson unabridged encyclopedia with atlas and weather guide This link opens in a new window or primary sources searches of images from the NASA archives This link opens in a new window from Jemison's mission STS-47 can provide insights into the event as it occurred at that time.
References
Mae Jemison (1956--). (2012). In L. Bracks, African American almanac : 400 years of triumph, courage and excellence . Canton, MI: Visible Ink Press.
To begin to analyze this event like a historian, what would be some questions that we could ask? Here are some ideas:
- What was happening during the late 1980's that influenced the Endeavour's flight?
- What technological advances are seen in the Endeavour? Which technological advances were key to the success of the Endeavor's mission?
- What technological advances were possible because of the Endeavor?
To learn more about the history of technology in space, watch Fight For Space This link opens in a new window on Kanopy.
- Space ProgramThe Reader's companion to American history
- EndeavourThe Hutchinson unabridged encyclopedia with atlas and weather guide
Suggested Databases
The list below are some examples of the library's databases that you could use to search for primary and secondary sources on NASA, the Endeavour, and Mae Jemison.
- AIAA Journals (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) This link opens in a new windowThe American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the premier provider of information on aerospace technology, engineering, and science. These titles document the most important developments and the latest research in air and space history. Access to these journals is provided through ARC – Aerospace Research Central.
- America: History & Life - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles in magazines and journals covering history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Primary Source Collections by Adam MatthewAdam Matthew publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world. SNHU Shapiro Library subscribes to the following collections: African American Communities, American History 1493-1945, the Confidential Print: North America collection in Archives Direct, Defining Gender, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920, Race Relations in America, and Socialism On Film. For more information on how to use these database, please see these tutorial videos.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Provides access to over four million articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, ebooks, and more on topics in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.Includes Wiley, MIT, and SAE International ebook collections.
