Books & eBooks
Scholarly journal articles typically have a narrow topic focus and are often research studies conducted in a specific area, whereas a book (whether print or electronic) is more likely to give you a broad overview of a certain topic.
Online Library Catalog
You can find books and eBooks by using the search box provided above to search the Online Library Catalog. The catalog is a list of all the print resources the library has (including print books, print journals, video games, audio books, and more) and also includes a record for most of our eBooks.
How to use the Online Library Catalog | Search Tips
If you are a currently enrolled student and live outside of Manchester, NH, you can request that a print book owned by the Shapiro Library be mailed to you. For more information, see How do I request library material be mailed to me?
Please keep in mind that the Online Library Catalog searches the library's print materials and many of the library's eBooks but not all of them. You can also search directly in our eBook collections. These are some of the recommended eBook databases for research in Music:
- Ebook Central - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowEbook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform Its intuitive, mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book. Previously called "Ebrary Ebooks"
- eBook Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text e-books in the fields of education, psychology, biology & life sciences, business, economics & management and general social sciences plus numerous e-books in the public domain. Read this FAQ to learn how to download an ebook from EBSCO. EBSCO recommends Firefox when accessing this database. If you use Safari, please use Safari 11. If you are using a IOS device, please have either IOS 9 or 11 installed as there have been reports of issues with IOS 10.
- eBook Collection from Cambridge This link opens in a new windoweBook collection from Cambridge University Press. Includes access to the full text of books in the fields of history, psychology, engineering, the sciences, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content alongside SAGE Video, containing over 4,600 titles. Content includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse over 10,000 items, video, book and reference titles within the Social Sciences.
Request through Interlibrary Loan
We don't have what you need? You can use our Interlibrary Loan service to obtain resources not owned by the library.
To place a request, please log in to your Interlibrary Loan account using your mySNHU user name and password. Most requests are filled within 3-5 business days, but it can take 7-15 business days for requests to be filled.
Before placing an Interlibrary Loan request, please check the Online Library Catalog or Periodical Finder to be sure that we don't already own the material you are requesting. You can also reach out to a librarian by chat, email at ask@snhu.libanswers.com, or by phone, to see if we already have access to an alternative resource that you can use in your research.