The Multi-Search
Search for books, articles, and more using the Multi-Search:
Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research on the subject of information technology:
- ACM Books Collection (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new windowThe series includes books from across the entire spectrum of computer science subject matter, appealing to computing practitioners, researchers, educators, and students. The series will initially focus on four kinds of books: graduate level textbooks; research monographs that provide an overview of established and emerging fields; practitioner level professional books; and books devoted to the history and social impact of computing.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAccessScience is an online resource that contains material covering all major scientific disciplines, including links to primary research material, videos, animations, and curriculum maps for teachers. The McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms is also integrated into the search function.
- Computing Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowMagazines and journals covering computer topics such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Provides access to over four million articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, ebooks, and more on topics in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.Includes Wiley, MIT, and SAE International ebook collections.
- O'Reilly This link opens in a new windowO'Reilly provides access to more than 21,000 eBooks and videos on topics such as programming, IT networking, project management, graphic design and business strategy.
- Telecommunications Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowArticles in publications covering telecommunications, computer applications, information science, information theory and more.
Google Scholar
It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask a librarian (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.