Social Sciences in the Commons

Academic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.

The digitized periodical collection of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. It is the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Includes Series 1-5: 1684-1820, 1821-1837, 1838-1852, 1853-1865, and 1866-1912.

Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Please note that ARTSTOR is not available on mobile browsers/phones.

Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

Features primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.

Black Studies Center, from Chadwyck Healey US, brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable, component databases including: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP); The Chicago Defender; the Black Literature Index, the HistoryMakers oral history video resource, and Black Abolitionist Papers .

Provides access to news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, and broadcast video.

Provides legislative history information and access to a wide range of congressional documents, including published and unpublished hearings, CRS reports, committee reports, and committee prints.

The Digitalia film library includes both popular films and documentaries. It contains collections devoted to Latin American, Cuban, Brazilian, European and French cinema, as well as subject collections. Foreign films include captions.

Early English Books Online (EEBO), from Chadwyck Healey US, contains page images of every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700. For more information on the content in this database, please see the About page.

Early European Books, from Chadwyck Healey UK, traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.

The Gerritsen Collection is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. The collection provides immediate access to many primary sources, periodicals, and books, from around the world concerning women's history, feminism, and anti-feminism including titles such as The Suffragist (1913-21) and The Women's Protest Against Woman Suffrage (1912-18).

"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world." (Source: http://www.hathitrust.org/)

The backfiles of consumer magazines devoted to health and fitness topics. With publications aimed at a male readership (e.g. Flex, Men’s Health) and women’s titles (e.g. Women’s Health, Women’s Health Activist), this collection supports research in topics such as the history of sex roles, body image, fitness/exercise, public health, food/nutrition, and medicine. The backfile of Prevention (from 1950) offers over six decades of content reflecting contemporary developments in these areas.

Core collection of current and historical law and law-related periodicals, classic books and reports. Includes government and political documents, such as World Constitutions, US Congressional Documents, the Federal Register and much more. Includes the HeinOnline Slavery in America and the World Collection (found within the UNC Press Law collection).

Designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research, this database features full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts.

History Vault consists of manuscripts and archival collections digitized in partnership with many archival institutions. This rich collection of federal records, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries is organized into nine subject categories: 1) Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; 2) Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; 3) Women's Studies; 4) Workers, Labor Unions, Progressives, and Radicals; 5) American Indians and the American West; 6) American Politics and Society; 7) International Relations and Military Conflicts; 8) Latinx History; 9) Revolutionary War and Early America.

"The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 6,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks. This includes a special modern collection of over 500,000 eBooks for users with print disabilities, and a very interesting curated, modern collection for the world at large." (Source: https://archive.org/details/texts&tab=about)

Database of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies.

Large, extensive compilation of literary commentary. SNHU subscribes to: Contemporary Literary Criticism, 1960 - present; Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, 1900-1960; Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism; Shakespeare Criticism; and Poetry Criticism.

Provides access to more than 140,000 full-text poems, 840,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays published in the 16th-20th centuries, 2,400 full-text speeches, and 1,250 full-text plays.

Classic Greek and Roman text with English translations. A sign in option is available to save searches and organize content.

A collection of men’s-interest magazine backfiles serving research in men’s studies/history but also offering important additional perspectives for women’s studies. It includes some of the earliest publications of this type – National Police Gazette and Argosy – and covers key topics such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment. Covers 1845 - 2015.

An online database that provides access to a vast archive of company, equity and industry information, including the 'Moody's Manuals' from inception;

Digitized articles from the New York Times from 1851 - 2020. Looking for the most recent NYT editions?

Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires

NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Shapiro Library also subscribes to the current year of the Union Leader in color which includes ads

Online periodical archive covering the arts, humanities and social sciences. All journals are indexed from vol.1 Issue 1.

Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for you to enjoy.

We have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Shapiro Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.

ProQuest includes all ProQuest Central databases as well as many primary source databases. If you would like to access ProQuest Central only, you can do so at the following link: ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window.

Science is a weekly, peer-reviewed journal that publishes significant original scientific research, plus reviews and analyses of current research and science policy. Shapiro Library has access to Science (1997-Present) and the Science Classic Archive (1880-1996).

U.K. Parliamentary Papers empowers researchers to explore the British perspective on historical and contemporary events through a vast and authoritative archive of official government documents spanning three centuries. Includes House of Commons and House of Lords papers.

Includes more than 5,000 primary source documents, full-text articles drawn from top periodicals and newspapers, thousands of images, videos, and audio selections.

American fashion and lifestyle magazine. Access available from 1892 to present.

Searchable database of articles from the world's leading financial newspaper

An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.

World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Includes primary sources, reference, and multi-media content.