Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library Logo

SNHU Academic Archive

The SNHU Academic Archive is an institutional repository, or digital library, providing free access to faculty and student research and other university resources. Learn more about its policies and use.

NOTICE: RefWorks revamped!

See the RefWorks tab to the left for more detailed information. New Features include:

  • Available via the "Advanced" link on the right side of the Search box, Advanced Search lets you scope your search to particular folders and fields—including custom fields.
  • Citation View,  found at the bottom right corner of the reference list, presents references as they would be formatted in a bibliography. Any built-in or custom citation style can be used. This view also identifies missing fields.
  • Increased speed of the deduplication feature, provided the ability to scope it to a folder (as well as to all documents) and added a “fuzzy” matching algorithm.
  • Improvements to the user interface and mechanics of Quick Cite, our built-in tool for creating citations and bibliographies when you aren't using Microsoft Word or Google docs.

If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please contact Instructional Support Services at instructionalsupport@snhu.edu.

What is a Citation Management Tool?


A Citation Management Tool is software that allows you to store and organize citation information (e.g. title, author, publication date, etc.). Most also allow users to create a reference list, bibliography, or work cited page from the citations stored in the management tool and some even assist with in-text citations, creating annotated bibliographies, organizing research, and more. Most tools offer assistance with citing sources in a variety of styles like APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.

Please note that when working with citation management tools it's extremely important that the citation information stored in these tools is correct. For example, if a citation is exported to a citation management tool in all UPPER CASE LETTERS when that citation is output as a source on a reference list it will be listed in all UPPER CASE LETTERS. Typically, that type of detail is NOT corrected by the citation management tool, so users should always double check the citation information that they are entering into or exported to the citation management tool.

As with any tool, there are benefits and drawbacks to using citation management tools that you should consider:

Benefits:
  • Allows users to store and organize citation information, bibliographies, etc.
  • Allows for quick processing of bibliographies, in-text citations, etc.
Drawbacks:
  • May contain errors--users still need to proofread and correct citation information, bibliographies, etc.
  • May not include every citation style or up-to-date information