Photo by LOGAN WEAVER | @LGNWVR on Unsplash
Social Justice
In the Salem Press Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window, social justice can be defined as:
When members of a society value all human beings and ensure that people are treated equally regardless of their personal or social characteristics. The concept of social justice includes fair treatment, equal opportunity, and unbiased allocation of resources for everyone. Often engrained in the philosophy of religion or politics, social justice also is associated with movements for peace, respect for diversity, and the application of equal rights.
For a more detailed encyclopedic entry: Social justice, Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2023 This link opens in a new window.
In this course you will have the option to select a topic of your choice, but if you are struggling to think of what you might want to write about, the databases have several topic lists with details that may help you in your decision.
The United Nations is a great resource for exploring human rights, peace and security and global issues.
Useful Databases
- CQ Researcher - SAGE This link opens in a new windowReports that explores a single current issue in the news in depth. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Gale This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for information on social issues. - Black Studies Center - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies Center, from Chadwyck Healey US, brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable, component databases including: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP); The Chicago Defender; the Black Literature Index, the HistoryMakers oral history video resource, and Black Abolitionist Papers .
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFeatures primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.
- Contemporary Women's Issues (CWi) - Gale This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. If the screen appears blank when you try to access this database, please make sure that your browser is not blocking popups.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe Gerritsen Collection is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. The collection provides immediate access to many primary sources, periodicals, and books, from around the world concerning women's history, feminism, and anti-feminism including titles such as The Suffragist (1913-21) and The Women's Protest Against Woman Suffrage (1912-18).
- LGBT Life with Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more.
