Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

PSY 224 - Research II: Scientific Investigation

This guide is designed to support PSY-224 taught by Dr. Peter Frost, Fall 2020.

Welcome to the PSY-224 Research Guide!


This guide is your one-stop library resource for scholarly and non-scholarly books and eBooks, databases and journals, web resources, research tips and tools, career information, and more to support your work in PSY 224! In this guide, you'll also find information on library services, tools, and other web resources to help you conduct your research project, create your poster presentation, cite your sources, and more.

Use the blue buttons on the left to navigate through the guide and find what you need. Ask a reference librarian if you need additional assistance via email (ask@snhu.libanswers.com), phone (1. 844.684.0456), or by using the yellow "Chat 24/7 with a Librarian" button on the library home page. Additionally, you can make an appointment (any length... 5 minutes to an hour+) to meet virtually with the Psychology Liaison Librarian, Karin Heffernan, by emailing k.heffernan@snhu.edu.

Psychology is a fascinating and varied discipline. Often, you'll find that the core resources (databases) below contain the information you need for your research project. Additional resources are listed by specialty on the Psychology Research Guide as follows:

Core Psychology Resources


For most topics and research questions in Psychology, you'll find the resources below helpful. Icons indicate what kind of resources are included in each database.

Databases

Video tutorial on using Shapiro Library Psychology databases

Psychology Associations

Types of Psychology Sources


There are many sources you will encounter as you research in psychology. These sources have different characteristics. Take care to match the sources you use to your projects.

Types of Psychology Sources
Publication Type Examples Content Authors Audience Reviewed by
Academic Journals Journal of Applied Psychology, Journal of Workplace Behavioral Health Original research, In-depth, Specific, Sources cited Scholars and Practitioners Scholars, Industry Professionals, Students Scholars (Peer Review)
Popular News and Magazines Psychology Today Brief articles on topics of general interest, Advertisements Journalists General Public Editors
Case Studies

Psychotherapy.net
(site also includes other types of content)

Detailed examination and analysis of a specific case Scholars and Practitioners Scholars, Industry Professionals, Students Scholars (Peer Review)
Government Information

National Institute of Mental Health

Research, Health Guidelines Government Agencies, including NIH and CDC Scholars, Students Government Agencies

Google Scholar 


Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.

Each result in a Google Scholar Search has options beneath it including: Citation for the article in 5 formats & export to various citation managers; "Cited by" lists all the articles written more recently that cite the article; and related articles. If the full text is available, it will appear as a link to the right of the citation. The link below demonstrates how to connect Google Scholar to the Shapiro Library databases. Google Scholar searches may be narrowed down by date in the left margin of the results list.

Semantic Scholar


Like Google Scholar, Semantic Scholar searches scholarly publications of all kinds. They are "a free AI-powered research tool for scientific literature based at the Allen Institute for AI." Their mission "is to accelerate scientific breakthroughs by helping scholars locate and understand the right research, make important connections, and overcome information overload. Semantic Scholar is... open and free for all to use... and they actively collaborate with industry partners... to provide open access to relevant scientific research." Search using the link below.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If you locate sources that are not available in the library databases, you may request them through Interlibrary Loan and the library will provide them to you for free. The link to request something through ILL is in the Quick Links box on the library home page.