Skip to Main Content
Accessibility Information

Teaching English as a Foreign Language

This Guide organizes Shapiro Library and internet resources for the masters degree Program for TEFL in Vietnam and other locations around the world.

Finding library books

To find books in Shapiro Library, use the Online Library Catalog linked from the Library Research webpage.  The first screen is a general keyword search.

A keyword search is a good way to start if you don't have a particular book or author in mind. Keyword searches the author, title, publisher, subject, table of contents if available, and other fields. 

If you have a particular book you want to find, the default keyword box can be dropped down to show Title, Author, or Subject as options. For more options, especially to see if we have an ebook of interest to you; go to "More Searches" drop box in the upper right hand corner in the Catalog. Choose the Advanced Search feature; type in your search term; and and limit your search to: "Electronic Books". 

Search results include location (which collection the book is in), call no. (exact location on shelf), and status (whether book is checked out or not).

Finding non-Shapiro Library books

If the WorldCat database lists a book you need, you may want to request to borrow the book through the Interlibrary Loan (ILL)  services.

E-Books on Teaching English in the Online Catalog

The eBooks below have been purchased as resources for the MS-TEFL program. They are single user books and can be accessed only when not in use by another student. They can be viewed online or temporarily downloaded ( normally for not more than 3 hours ) onto your computer. You must create an account in "my EBSCOhost" and sign into your account to temporarily download these e-books.

A limited number of pages, as designated by an individual book's publisher, may be printed. 

More eBooks from EBSCO This link opens in a new window and other eBook vendors such as Ebook Central - ProQuest Ebooks This link opens in a new window can be searched for by using their individual databases through the Library's "A-Z Database List" link or via the Library's Online Catalog, the "Find a Book or eBook" link; both of which are located on the Library's web page inside the mySNHU Portal. The last minute of the video guide below will cover how to search for eBooks within the Catalog.

Main collection vs. ERC

All main collection and ERC materials are cataloged in the online library catalog.  All main collection and ERC items can be checked out with your SNHU ID.

However, there are differences in the types of materials in these two collections.

Main Collection: Education materials in the main collection are focused on the "big picture": theory, history, biographies of important education figures, etc.

Examples of main collection holdings:

  • "Preparing America's teachers: a history." LB 1715 .F697 2007  
  • "Ethical visions of education: philosophies in practice." LB 41 .E777 2007
  • "The psychology of effective learning and teaching." LB 1051 .J386 2005

ERC: ERC materials have to do with the practical side of education: K-12 textbooks, how-to and best practices guides for teachers, manipulatives, teaching kits, and children's literature. 

 Examples of ERC holdings:

  • "Self-evaluation for teachers and student teachers: a framework for professional development." LB2838 .B8 1997
  • "Best practices for high school classrooms." LB1777.2 .S76 2002 ERC
  • "Children's literature remembered: issues, trends, and favorite books." PN1009 .A1 C513868 2004 ERC
  • "The invention of Hugo Cabret: a novel in words and pictures" by Brian Selznick. Y.A. Selznick, B. Invention ERC
  • "ASCD curriculum handbook: a resource for curriculum administrators from the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development." LB2806.15 .A85