Teaching English as a Foreign Language

Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, this index is a public Web site for searching nearly 1.2 million citations going back to 1966. Many cited ERIC Documents and a small amount of journal articles are available for free if permitted by the contributor.
After graduation from SNHU, you will need to use the Interlibrary Loan services of your local library to obtain articles that are cited in the ERIC Index.

Welcome to Teflnet — a site dedicated to ESL teachers and staff. This is where you can:

•find ESL lesson plans teaching English
•make your own worksheets
•discuss teaching issues in the teacher forums
•read reviews of the latest TEFL books
•join our list and read the latest TEFL Inspire newsletter
•search our ESL links or add your own

This online journal is for teachers of English as a second language. It contains: articles, research papers, lesson plans, classroom handouts, teaching ideas & links

Quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you learn English as a Second Language (ESL)
This website, a project of The Internet TESL Journal, has thousands of contributions by many teachers. It includes quizzes, test, exercises, and puzzles to help students learn English as a foreign or second language.

The British Council/BBC's Teaching English website offers free classroom materials to download, from short activities to full lesson plans, for teaching kids and adults. There are also articles on aspects of teaching, and free teacher development and teacher training materials.
You can register for free on the website and join in the discussion or start your own blog. You can also keep up to date with new materials via Facebook or subscribe to their newsletter.

This website offers a large collection of English as a Second Language (ESL) tools & resources for students, teachers, learners and academics, covering the full spectrum of ESL, EFL, ESOL, and EAP subject areas.

This website was created to help enhance language learning beyond the static page (i.e., just the printed word) and focuses on listening skills. It is available for educational use free of charge. For more specific details on using the website's content for classroom instruction, please read the "Terms of Use" information.

The DOAJ is a searchable database of freely accessible scholarly and scientific journals and their article content. The DOAJ's aim is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Some articles may be linked and freely available from an academic repository or web site.

Access resources from NASP's collection of research, podcasts, handouts, articles, and guidance on topics related to students, schools, and the profession of school psychology.

“Founded in 1984 by teachers who believed that in a connected world students need a global perspective, brings together youth online from 194 countries to explore community, cultural and scientific issues..."

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Technology examines information on leveraging the power of technology to support teaching and learning.