UGR 2023 General Schedule
UGR 2023 Proposal Link for Students:
Deadlines:
- Early Acceptance: Friday, December 9, 2022
- Regular Admission: Friday, March 3, 2023
UGR 2023 Proposal Link for Faculty:
Faculty who have their whole class doing research may submit a single proposal for their class' group or individual projects using the link below:
Institutional Review Board
All research involving human subjects, whether conducted by internal or external researchers must be approved by SNHU IRB prior to the recruitment of any SNHU student, faculty, staff, or alumni. SNHU students must identify a regular, full-time SNHU employee willing to serve as a SNHU liaison for the entire research period and to assist in facilitating the application process.
Information for Students
How to Participate in Undergraduate Research:
-
Select a Faculty/Staff Mentor
- This person will help you get what you need to complete your project, and be a sounding board for your ideas and offer suggestions to help you achieve them.
- This person might be a professor or staff member at SNHU, a supervisor or colleague in your place of employment, an expert on location where you would like to conduct research, a SNHU alumnus working in your field of interest, or another professional individual connected to you and your interests. If you are planning on conducting research involving human subjects, it is helpful to select a mentor who is holds a faculty/staff role at SNHU.
- This person will help you submit your proposal to the Institutional Review Board (IRB) if you are conducting research involving human subjects (distributing a survey, conducting interviews, etc.). See button in the left column.
-
Submit a proposal by Friday, March 3, 2023. (Button on left)
- A proposal is a 250 word abstract(summary) of what you intend to do for your UGR project (That's one paragraph!)
-
Types of Projects
- Original Research - You create a study, conduct interviews, administer a survey, execute a lab sequence, etc.
- Secondary Source Research - You find research and information on a topic and assemble your findings in a new way to educate your readers/viewers/colleagues
- Creative Works - You conduct research in the process needed to create a film or documentary, graphic design, story, photo exhibit, song, video game, app, software, robot, etc.
- Case Study - This year there TWO case studies where students may tackle an issue through the lens of their major or an angle of their choosing.
-
If you are conducting research using human subjects (surveys, focus groups, etc.)...
- Institutional Review Board
- To conduct research using human subjects requires approval by the SNHU IRB. Go to their website to learn about what is required: SNHU IRB
- Submit an application with your chosen mentor (who will be the Primary Investigator - PI) through the software platform Cayuse accessed from the SNHU IRB site
- Complete the free UNH online course: The Ethical Use and Treatment of Human Subjects in Research
- Institutional Review Board
-
Decide how you wish to share your project during UGR Research Day
- Presentation
- You may present live during the UGR Day (This may include oral presentations, PowerPoints with speaker, plays, performances, readings, video game demonstrations, etc.)
- Pre-record a presentation to be streamed on UGR Day (Ex: Digital storytelling projects, film, play, etc.)
- Poster
- Create a poster to be viewed during UGR Research Day
- Posters should be 36” X 48” and landscape orientation and can be printed for free in the Shapiro Library using the order form on this Poster Design Guide, which include tips, resources & best practices for creating research posters.
- Participate in a session where viewers may interact with you about your poster
- Creative Works
- Create a gallery of images of photographs, sculptures, graphic designs, etc.
- Conduct a "gallery talk" about your works
- Create an opportunity for viewers to play the video game or use software you have designed
- Present your creative work during a session - such as a robotics demonstration, dramatic performance, etc.)
- This category is open to new ideas... how would you like to share your work?
- Presentation
Submit your project to the Undergraduate Research Day
Conference Proceedings Archive
- After the conference, you may submit your project to be archived in the SNHU Archives. You will retain a link to your project that you may add to your resume/CV or LinkedIn profile, etc.
- You must include your mentor's name and email address in the submission form. Click the button below:
Submit to UGR Conference Proceedings
Volunteer
- Not ready to conduct your own research project? Volunteer to help with Undergraduate Research Week! Students are needed to help with publicity, marketing, logistics, etc.
- Email ugresearch@snhu.edu and say you're happy to volunteer!
Undergraduate Research Day Participants Scholarships
SNHU students who participate in Undergraduate Research Day have the opportunity to apply for a scholarship using this application form (below). Graduating seniors may also apply to receive these funds. Each of the three schools (Business; Arts, Sciences & Education; SETA) will award a scholarship.
Applications must be submitted to ugresearch@snhu.edu by midnight, Friday, April 7, 2023.
Eligibility
To be eligible for this scholarship, you must:
- Be an undergraduate student at SNHU on campus
- Have participated at Undergraduate Research Day during this academic year
Application Requirements
Your application must include:
- Completion of the attached form
- Resume
- Letter of recommendation from a faculty member, preferably your mentor, describing your strengths/growth through your experience with undergraduate research, as well as your contribution to undergraduate research
- An essay describing what you have learned through your participation in UG Research Day and how you have grown as a result of this experience
- This essay should be double spaced, Times New Roman, size 12 font and no more than 1,250 word
- Undergraduate Research Day Work Sample (This could be a copy of the PowerPoint presentation, a photo, or other evidence of your research)
Resources for Conducting & Presenting UG Research
Learning about how to research
- What are the different types of studies?
- What is the difference between qualitative and quantitative research?
- How do I create a randomized sample?
Answers to questions like these and much more can be found in a database called SAGE Research Methods. It even includes a Research Project Planner to take you step by step through the process of research!
Sage Research Methods
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowThis link will take you directly to the SAGE Research Methods database where you will be asked to log in using your snhu credentials, unless you are already logged in.
- SAGE Research PROJECT PLANNERThis tool is designed to guide you through your research project from defining a topic, conducting a literature review, developing a researchable question, research design, planning & logistics, research ethics, data collection, analysis & interpretation, writing it up and disseminating it.
- Sage Research Methods Student HandoutLearn how SRM can help you with your research!
- Sage Research Methods LibGuideAnyone doing research at a university - whether they are doing a student research project or dissertation, or planning a large scale study - needs to use the right tools to plan their study, gather their data, and make sense of their findings. These tools are the 'research methods' of the social sciences.
This research guide is to help you in your exploration of research methods in the social sciences. In this guide are tips to find resources on the SAGE Research Methods platform. It will also guide you in finding the best literature to enable you to choose a methodology and launch into your research project.
Finding Tests, Surveys & Tools to Conduct Research
- Finding Tests, Surveys & Tools to Conduct ResearchThis page includes databases and eBooks about tests, surveys, tools; validation; survey design; and design-based research resources.
RefWorks
SNHU subscribes to RefWorks, a citation management system to keep track of all your sources, cite them in whichever format is needed, instantly create bibliographies, highlight and take notes on sources, and much more!
- RefWorksThis page explains what RefWorks is, provides video tutorials, information for first-time users, FAQs and more!
Presenting your Research - Posters
- The Shapiro Library Poster Design Guide includes templates, SNHU logos, formatting & layout, information on finding and using images, how to present text, and a host of additional information to create and present posters.
- The Shapiro Library Makerspace Professional Poster Design Workshop videos focus on the three main elements of poster design. Select the video to help with what you need:
- Video One - Layout
- Video Two - Visuals
- Video Three - Text
Video #1 - Layout
Video #2 - Visuals
Video #3 - Text
Presenting Your Research - Oral Presentations
Presentation Help
Check out the Shapiro Library page on Presentation Help offering eBooks and websites with tips for writing and doing presentations.
Public Speaking Tips
The Shapiro Library Public Speaking Tips page offers tips, videos, websites and eBooks with all kinds of advice for how to give the presentation of your life!
Opportunity to Practice Before You Present
Once again, Communications professor, "JB" Boroshok has volunteered to listen to/watch presentations for students who would like to practice before they present on Wednesday, April 5, 2023 at Undergraduate Research Day. Reach out to him via email: j.boroshok@snhu.edu or text him at 978.502.1055 to set up a time to meet together either in person or online to run through your presentation and get expert tips for conveying your learnings and wowing your audience.