Scholarly Articles
Scholarly journal articles are written by academics or experts in a particular field or discipline to communicate with other academics or experts in that field or discipline. These journals share ideas and theories, research findings, and more while helping readers stay current on developments in that field or discipline.
Additionally, scholarly articles are cited properly in the form of a bibliography or footnotes and in-text citations. They are found in journals published by a professional association or academic press, and are professional in appearance, with no spelling or grammatical errors, advertisements, or unrelated images.
For more helping finding and recognizing scholarly articles, check out our FAQ: How do I find a scholarly article?
Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes to many databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more. These are some of the recommended databases for doing research on the subjects of history and civilizations. For tips on searching within a database, see Search Tips. You can see a complete list of all the databases the library subscribes to on our A - Z Database List.
- Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
- Dissertations & Theses Global - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of more than 1.6 million entries with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It contains the same information as Dissertation Abstracts with the addition that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
- History CooperativeMaintained jointly by the Organization of American Historians, the American Historical Association, JSTOR, the University of Illinois Press, and the National Academy Press, History Cooperative provides access to 21 leading history journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - Periodicals Archive Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOnline periodical archive covering the arts, humanities and social sciences. All journals are indexed from vol.1 Issue 1.
- Project MUSE (Standard Collection) This link opens in a new windowWe have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Shapiro Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
Request through Interlibrary Loan
We don't have what you need? You can use our Interlibrary Loan service to obtain resources not owned by the library.
To place a request, please log in to your Interlibrary Loan account using your mySNHU user name and password. Most requests are filled within 3-5 business days, but it can take 7-15 business days for requests to be filled.
Before placing an Interlibrary Loan request, please check the Online Library Catalog or Periodical Finder to be sure that we don't already own the material you are requesting. You can also reach out to a librarian by chat, email at ask@snhu.libanswers.com, or by phone, to see if we already have access to an alternative resource that you can use in your research.