History
Guide to basic historical research at the Shapiro Library
Core Journals
Below is a list of some prominent journals in the field of history.
Publication Finder
If you want to search within a specific journal but you don't know which database to use to find it, you can use the Publication Finder This link opens in a new window. The Publication Finder is a searchable listing of all publications ( journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. ) that Shapiro Library subscribes to either in print, or has full text content available through a database subscription. Date ranges of full text coverage and links to the respective database are included with each publication's record.
You can find the Publication Finder by clicking on the "Find Articles, eBooks & More" menu on the library home page. For more information on using the Publication Finder, see How do I find a journal?
Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes to many databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more. These are some of the recommended databases for history research. For tips on searching within a database, see Search Tips. You can see a complete list of all the databases the library subscribes to on our A - Z Database List.
- Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
- America: History & Life - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles in magazines and journals covering history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodical Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThe digitized periodical collection of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. It is the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Includes Series 1-5: 1684-1820, 1821-1837, 1838-1852, 1853-1865, and 1866-1912.
- Arts & Humanities Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- Dissertations & Theses Global - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of more than 1.6 million entries with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It contains the same information as Dissertation Abstracts with the addition that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
- Humanities International Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of journals in the humanities, with full-text for approximately 1,200.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - Periodicals Archive Online - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowOnline periodical archive covering the arts, humanities and social sciences. All journals are indexed from vol.1 Issue 1.
- Project MUSE (Standard Collection) This link opens in a new windowWe have access to full-text, current, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Shapiro Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
- U.S. History In Context - Gale This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 5,000 primary source documents, full-text articles drawn from top periodicals and newspapers, thousands of images, videos, and audio selections.
- World History In Context - Gale This link opens in a new windowWorld History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Includes primary sources, reference, and multi-media content.
Historical Newspapers
Here is a selection of the Shapiro Library's databases containing archived newspapers. For more information, see How can I find archived newspapers? and How can I find local newspapers?
- News & Newspapers - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires
- Newspaper Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSelected full-text for regional, national and international newspapers and television & radio news transcripts
Peer-Reviewed History Journals
Below you will find an extensive listing of helpful Peer-Reviewed history journals. Each journal links to the publisher website, and beneath each listing you will find a link to our database holdings.
- American Art This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Smithsonian Studies in American Art (1987 - 1990)
- American Studies This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Journal of the Central Mississippi Valley American Studies Association (1960 - 1961)
Previous title: Midcontinent American Studies Journal (1962 - 1970) - Annales. Histoire, Sciences Sociales This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Annales d’histoire sociale (1945)
Previous title: Mélanges d'histoire sociale (1942 - 1944)
Previous title: Annales d’histoire socialie (1939 - 1941)
Previous title: Annales d'histoire économique et sociale (1929 - 1938) - Daedalus This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1846 - 1958)
- Early American Studies This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Explorations in Early American Culture (2000 - 2001)
- Environmental History This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Environmental History Review (1990 - 1995)
Previous title: Forest & Conservation History (1990 - 1995)
Previous title: Environmental Review (1976 - 1989)
Previous title: Journal of Forest History (1974 - 1989) - Historical Journal This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Cambridge Historical Journal (1923 - 1957)
- International Journal of African Historical Studies This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: African Historical Studies (1968 - 1971)
- International Labor and Working-Class History This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Newsletter: European Labor and Working-Class History (1972 - 1975)
- Journal of African American History This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Journal of Negro History (1916 - 2001)
- Journal of American History This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Mississippi Valley Historical Review (1914 - 1964)
- Journal of Military History This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Military Affairs (1941 - 1988)
Previous title: Journal of the American Military Institute (1939 - 1940)
Previous title: Journal of the American Military History Foundation (1937 - 1938) - Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Journal of the Warburg Institute (1937 - 1939)
- Montana: The Magazine of Western History This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Montana Magazine of History (1951 - 1955)
- Naval War College Review This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Naval War College Information Service for Officers (1948 - 1952)
- Renaissance Quarterly This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: Studies in the Renaissance (1954 - 1974)
Previous title: Renaissance News (1948 - 1966) - Slavic and East European Journal This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: AATSEEL Journal (1954 - 1956)
Previous title: Bulletin of the American Association of Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages (1947 – 1953)
Previous title: Bulletin of the American Association of Teachers of Slavonic and East European Languages (1945 - 1946) - William and Mary Quarterly This link opens in a new windowPrevious title: William and Mary Quarterly Historical Magazine (1894 - 1943)
Previous title: William and Mary College Quarterly Historical Papers (1892 - 1894)