History
Guide to basic historical research at the Shapiro Library
Reference Sources
Electronic Reference
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica - the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world.
- Credo This link opens in a new windowOnline reference library that provides access to a selection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations in general and subject-specific disciplines. Credo includes interactive mind maps.
Print Reference
The following is a selection of major print reference resources that can be found in the library. These resources provide large amounts of background information and can help during topic selection and the initial stages of your research. This is by no means an exhaustive list, feel free to browse our extensive collection. More resources can be found using our Library Book Search.
The New Cambridge Medieval History by Call Number: D117 .N48 1995 V. 1-7ISBN: 0521362911Publication Date: 1995
Encyclopedia of Russian HistoryCall Number: REF DK14 .E53 2004 V. 1-4ISBN: 0028656938Publication Date: 2003-11-21
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World by Call Number: DS35.53 .O95 1995 V.1-4ISBN: 0195066138Publication Date: 1995-03-30
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by Call Number: REF DS735 .A2 B47 2009 V.1-5ISBN: 0977015947Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Encyclopedia of American Indian History by Call Number: REF E77 .E48 2008 V.1-4ISBN: 1851098178Publication Date: 2008
Colonial America by Call Number: REF E162 .C68 2006 V. 1-5ISBN: 0765680653Publication Date: 2006-05-15
Dictionary of American History by Call Number: REF E174 .D52 2003 V. 1-10ISBN: 0684805332Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of American History by Call Number: REF E174 .E53 2009 V. 1-10ISBN: 0816071365Publication Date: 2009- Encyclopedia of Black America by Call Number: REF E185 .E55ISBN: 0070388342Publication Date: 1981-03-01
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by Call Number: REF E468 .H47 2000 V. 1-5ISBN: 1576070662Publication Date: 2000-12-13
