Electronic Books
Additional eBooks covering topics on the environmental history of America throughout the late 18th, 19th and 20th centuries may be found in these eBook databases:
- eBook Collection from Cambridge This link opens in a new windoweBook collection from Cambridge University Press. Includes access to the full text of books in the fields of history, psychology, engineering, the sciences, and more.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of searchable high quality books in the Humanities
- eBook Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text e-books in the fields of education, psychology, biology & life sciences, business, economics & management and general social sciences plus numerous e-books in the public domain. Read this FAQ to learn how to download an ebook from EBSCO. EBSCO recommends Firefox when accessing this database. If you use Safari, please use Safari 11. If you are using a IOS device, please have either IOS 9 or 11 installed as there have been reports of issues with IOS 10.
- Ebook Central - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowEbook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform Its intuitive, mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book. Previously called "Ebrary Ebooks"
- Down to Earth: Nature's Role in American HistoryA survey of American environmental history. It will contain a useful bibliography of valuable secondary sources as well.
Helpful Subjects and Call Number Ranges
The Shapiro Library organizes its books using the Library of Congress classification system. Below are some helpful call number ranges for history and related disciplines:
- D - History, Historiographies
- E - United States / America
- F - US States / Canada / Latin America
Online Library Catalog
You can find books and eBooks by using the search box provided above to search the Online Library Catalog. The catalog is a list of all the print resources the library has (including print books, print journals, video games, audio books, and more) and also includes a record for most of our eBooks.
Other Book Catalogs
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new windowAn aggregation of library catalogs worldwide, Worldcat can help you locate books that may not be available in the Shapiro Library.
