IDS 402 - Wellness
Course guide to assist students with research in IDS 402.
Humanities
If you were researching food production in the United States through the Humanities lens, you would think about how this topic relates to or has impacted human action or work. Consider the following questions that are reflective of humanities centric thought:
- How as art been influenced by food production? Looking at items like the iconic Campbell's soup can art by Andy Warhol for example.
- What does McDonald's golden arches represent? Could we look at the video, art and jingles that have been used to advertise and market our food?
- What do films like Super Size Me This link opens in a new window and Food, Inc. This link opens in a new window (linked below) tell us about our society and culture as it relates to art and this issue?
Suggested Databases
The list of databases below are some options that you can look through for topics related to food production and the humanities. Before searching, let's strategize on constructing a few example searches.
Keywords and search strings might include:
- food production AND art
- food AND production AND United States AND film
- culture AND food AND United States
- Arts & Humanities Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- ARTSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Please note that ARTSTOR is not available on mobile browsers/phones.
- Humanities International Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of journals in the humanities, with full-text for approximately 1,200.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy Streaming Video offers a broad catalog of over 26,000 films from 800 producers, including Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, PBS, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources, Roland Collection, MVD, Seventh Art, Psychotherapy. net, Symptom Media, and many more. Kanopy also offers a free search service where they will help source any films you would like in streaming that are not currently in their catalog - this service is completely free. If you are using Internet Explorer and experience issues with this database, please use another browser like Firefox or Chrome.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowSwank Digital Campus provides access to films in a variety of subject areas.
