IDS 402 - Wellness
Science
You’ll pick and research your own topic, but to think about how you’ll explore and research your topic through the lens, consider the following example.
If you were researching food production through the Science lens, you would think about how this topic relates to or has impacted science and brainstorm related keywords. If it helps, consider:
- How did technology change in the 19th and 20th centuries? What impact did this have into the way food was consumed and produced?
- How did the availability of electricity and the gas powered engine affect food production?
Watch some of the Kanopy video Big Business and the Homogenization of Food This link opens in a new window to get more ideas about how science and technology affected food production.
Suggested Databases
The list below are some examples of the library's databases that you can use to search for primary and secondary sources. Thinking about your search strategies, we might start to brainstorm by thinking of keywords.
Including the keyword: Science, might not be very helpful, but searching food production AND technology AND effects would be. The results will be related to your topic and focused on the scientific aspects. Other searches might include:
- food production AND united states AND technology
- food production AND electricity AND refrigeration
- food production AND manufacturing AND cars OR shipping
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection of full-text, scholarly journals and eBooks in science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
- Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation
- Environment Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowContains full-text for hundreds of journals and monographs covering the areas of agriculture, ecosystems, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
- America: History & Life - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles in magazines and journals covering history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAccessScience is an online resource that contains material covering all major scientific disciplines, including links to primary research material, videos, animations, and curriculum maps for teachers. The McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms is also integrated into the search function.
- Science In Context - Gale This link opens in a new windowProvides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, includes millions of full-text articles that includes national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.
