NUR 530 - Systems Leadership and Collaborative Practices
Library Databases for Nursing
The Shapiro Library subscribes to numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, eBooks and more from thousands of respected publications/publishers. The two primary nursing databases are CINAHL Complete and Nursing Journals @Ovid which are listed as separate pages on the left side navigation of this guide. The following list are other databases that present different publications which may help in your research needs. You may need to look outside the nursing discipline literature for topics that touch other related disciplines like psychology, education or business as examples. Familiarizing yourself with the A-Z Database List and the different ways to sort our databases by subject, vendor or type of material is important.
- Cochrane - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAn essential source of high quality health care data for providers, patients, administrators, and educators. Includes the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Cochrane Methodology Register.
- eBook Collection from Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new windoweBook Collection from Taylor & Francis offers a comprehensive eBook collection that delivers more than 12,000 references in over 350 subject areas and more than 40 collections. Includes ENGnetBASE
- Health & Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowHealth and medical full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and specialties
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals
- MEDLINE - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, and the health care system
- Nursing & Allied Health Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowReliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more
- R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a collection of health science ebooks from multiple publishers
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWhether looking at data, books, journals, proceedings or patents, Web of Science provides a single destination to access the most reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Quality, curated content delivered alongside information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools make it easy for students, faculty, researchers, analysts, and program managers to pinpoint the most relevant research to inform their work. PLEASE NOTE: This database only allows up to 100 users at the same time. If you are unable to access this database, please try again later.
Research Tip
It is possible, and often helpful, to search several databases available through the same vendor at the same time. Use the link below to select and search several health related databases offered by EBSCO. We suggest including CINAHL, Cochrane, HealthSource, Medline, and depending on your topic PsychArticles. Once you have selected your databases, we suggest using the advanced search options to specify your search terms and limiters.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost is a customizable search of full-text articles and abstracts of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. You can select the EBSCO databases that you would like to search at the same time and click continue.
