Researching with Shapiro Library
The Shapiro Library’s collections provide knowledge-based resources essential to the academic endeavors of the SNHU community. Here are three main ways that you can get started using our databases, resources and tools.
-
Start your research in the Multi-Search database search box on the homepage of the library
-
Watch the Video Tutorial on a Multi-Search Overview
-
The Multi-Search searches across library resources including the physical and electronic collections of books/ ebooks, articles, databases, videos, and reference resources.
-
Type a keyword or two into the the Multi-Search search box and search the many books, e-books, journals, magazines, newspapers and, reports in our collection. You may limit your search by content type, subject or publication date.
-
HINT: When searching in the Multi-Search, look for the recommended databases at the top of the search results page. Multi-Search can be a great place to start, but won't include medicine specific limiters that can assist with your searches.
-
Continue your research in the A-Z Database List using subject specific databases
-
Watch the Find Databases video tutorial
-
You can sort the databases per subject to get to the most relevant database for your research topic.
-
HINT: Some of our databases are not searchable through the Multi-Search or only a portion is discoverable. Go directly into the databases for the most in-depth searches in subject areas. We've chosen a few of our favorite nursing databases- explore the options in the menu on the left to learn more.
-
Find a specific journal, magazine or newspaper by using our Periodical Finder
