EG 345 - Characterization of Materials
This Library Research Guide has resources on characterization of materials. It covers properties, research & testing, scanning electron microscopes- scholarly articles, books, websites, etc. Also includes citing sources and writing & presentation help.
Materials Properties
The mechanical properties of a material are those which affect the mechanical strength and ability of a material to be molded in suitable shape. Some of the typical mechanical properties of a material include:
- Strength
- Toughness
- Hardness
- Hardenability
- Brittleness
- Malleability
- Ductility
- Creep and Slip
- Resilience
- Fatigue
Recommended Resources
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information.
- Knovel This link opens in a new windowThis database contains a Property Search feature to learn more about about the material characteristics of a substance. Knovel is an eBook database. Knovel's content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowThe Shapiro Library's subscription includes Ei Compendex and Ei Inspec. Engineering Village allows you to search Inspec and Compendex simultaneously or alone. Inspec covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present. Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection of full-text, scholarly journals and eBooks in science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
