EG 345 - Characterization of Materials
This Library Research Guide has resources on characterization of materials. It covers properties, research & testing, scanning electron microscopes- scholarly articles, books, websites, etc. Also includes citing sources and writing & presentation help.
Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM)
Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) is a method for high-resolution imaging of surfaces. The SEM uses electrons for imaging, much as a light microscope uses visible light. The following page has information on SEM and techniques.
Overview video of Scanning Electron Microscopy from the database, JoVE.
Access the Scanning Electron Microscopy This link opens in a new window video. You will need to authenticate with your SNHU username and password if off-campus.
- Basics of Scanning Electron MicroscopyFrom the database, AccessEngineering
- Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) - OverviewFrom Materials Evaluation and Engineering, Inc.
- Article: SEM techniques for materials characterizationThe scanning electron microscope (SEM) can be used to study and characterize a wide variety of materials used in photonic applications. These range from highly conductive samples to insulating materials. Several different techniques make use of this versatile tool. These include secondary electron imaging, backscattered electron imaging, X-ray analysis (both qualitative and quantitative), electron channeling patterns for studying crystalline materials, charge collection techniques for semiconductor samples and cathodoluminescence. These techniques will be described here with examples of applications.
Related Techniques and Concepts
X-Ray Diffraction by
An important milestone in the history of science, the diffraction of X-rays, was observed by Max von Laue in 1912. In the last 100 years, X-ray diffraction (XRD) studies have revealed highly valuable information about many ordered atomic structures seen in a variety of common materials. The understanding of material structures opened the door to the reliable application of these materials and allowed scientific discussions about material properties and structural features to become possible. Besides playing this crucial role in history, XRD has now also successfully transformed itself into a method in the forefront of extending much of our knowledge boundaries. Written by more than 30 X-ray diffraction experts from 9 countries/regions, this book consists of 11 chapters examining the development of the XRD technique and demonstrating various new opportunities for its application. Each chapter discusses timely and important subjects surrounding the XRD technique, including the past and future of the single-crystal XRD technique and new explorations with co-ordination polymers; the very successful implementation of Rietveld refinement analysis for alloys, intermetallics, cements, and ceramics; the application of XRD in nanoparticles structure study; the methodological developments in quantifying the state of residual stress in materials; and the state-of-the-art progress in combining XRD principles with electron crystallography for structure determination.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781628085914Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Recommended Optics and other Research Databases
- Ebook Central - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowEbook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform Its intuitive, mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book. Previously called "Ebrary Ebooks"
- eBook Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text e-books in the fields of education, psychology, biology & life sciences, business, economics & management and general social sciences plus numerous e-books in the public domain. Read this FAQ to learn how to download an ebook from EBSCO. EBSCO recommends Firefox when accessing this database. If you use Safari, please use Safari 11. If you are using a IOS device, please have either IOS 9 or 11 installed as there have been reports of issues with IOS 10.
- SPIE Digital Library (International Society for Optics and Photonics) This link opens in a new windowThe SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 466,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings and more than 310 eBooks from SPIE Press from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers and 25 eBooks are added annually.
