Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library Logo

Getting Started with Research at Shapiro Library

This guide discusses understanding information sources, formulating a topic and search phrase, where and how to search the library for information, how to evaluate sources, how to cite sources, and more.

Finding Resources

What makes information useful?

Information can be found in a variety of formats and sources. It is not difficult to find information, but it can be difficult to find useful information. Information is useful if it answers your research question or provides information on your topic. Useful information is appropriate for your assignment and is from a reliable source.

When working on a research project, you'll want to search in a variety of sources to be sure that you don't miss a useful book, article, or web resource. Use the navigation bar to the left for help finding information on a variety of sources including: 

Still Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

Google vs. Library Resources

Deep Web Image

Google vs. Library Resources

Still Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

What are Databases, Why do You Need Them?

A database is a searchable repository of journal articles, newspapers, magazines, and other scholarly resources.

Databases can be multidisciplinary, such as Academic Search Complete or subject specific, such as Business Source Complete. A database will have both abstract-only records (no full-text articles) and records with full-text attached.

View a complete list of all the databases the library subscribes to (and some open access databases) on our A - Z Database List.

Still Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

Loading