Getting Started with Research at Shapiro Library
This guide discusses understanding information sources, formulating a topic and search phrase, where and how to search the library for information, how to evaluate sources, how to cite sources, and more.
Video & Image Databases
The library's A-Z Database List has three drop-down menus across the top that allow you to narrow the list down by subject, database type, and database vendor. To find databases that have video or image content, select the "All Database Types" drop-down menu in the middle and choose "Includes Video and/or Images."
Please see below for a list of our most popular databases where you can find videos, images, and other types of multimedia. Some databases contain only these types of resources while others contain multiple types of resources, so you may need to use limiters to narrow down your search to the type of resource you are looking for.
Streaming Video Databases
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online: Premium has more than 50,000 video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Included is The Psychotherapy.net Collection which has 200 in-depth training videos from one of the counseling professions’ most respected video providers.
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowFeature Films for Education offers hundreds of full-length feature films. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more. NOTE: This database does not work with Chrome. Please use an alternative browser (e.g. Firefox)..
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Archival Films & Newsreels Collection, Psychology, History, Business, & Economics, Science, Health & Medicine, Art, Political Science, and more! Films on Demand includes world-class online educational videos from PBS, The History Channel, TED, Films for the Humanities & Social Sciences, Frontline, NOVA, National Geographic, and more.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy Streaming Video offers a broad catalog of over 26,000 films from 800 producers, including Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, PBS, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources, Roland Collection, MVD, Seventh Art, Psychotherapy. net, Symptom Media, and many more. Kanopy also offers a free search service where they will help source any films you would like in streaming that are not currently in their catalog - this service is completely free. If you are using Internet Explorer and experience issues with this database, please use another browser like Firefox or Chrome.
- SAGE Video This link opens in a new windowSAGE Video hosts streaming video collections created to support a range of levels, from reference content for research, to pedagogical content for undergraduate teaching, to higher- level academic interest material. Currently available collections include counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, education, media and communication, psychology, and sociology.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowSwank Digital Campus provides access to films in a variety of subject areas.
- TED: Ideas worth spreading This link opens in a new window"Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world"
Image Databases
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica - the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world.
- Credo This link opens in a new windowOnline reference library that provides access to a selection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations in general and subject-specific disciplines. Credo includes interactive mind maps.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia with articles on visual arts from prehistory to the present day
