Getting Started with Research at Shapiro Library

Saving Library Resources for Later Use

As you use the library, you will probably come across resources you want to save for later. In many cases, the URL from your browser is session-specific, so if you copy it to save for later, it may not work. Luckily, there are better ways to save what you find! Most databases offer options like permanent links, downloads, emailing the content to yourself, or saving it to external tools like RefWorks or Google Drive. You can also create folders or personalized accounts in many databases to organize your saved materials easily.

Permanent Links

A permanent link is sometimes called a permalink or persistent link, and it is a link that lets you return to a resource later. Specifically, it is a web address that always points to the same source, like an ebook, article, video, or database. If you are sharing a library resource and want SNHU users to access it, make sure to use the permanent link instead of the URL in your browser, which is often specific to your library session. Two of our most popular database providers, EBSCO and ProQuest, offer these permanent links, which you can easily copy directly from their databases.

Accounts and Folders

Many databases offer accounts or folders. In general, you will need to create and sign-in to a database-specific account for those folders to be permanent. Otherwise, saved items will only last during your current database session.

EBSCO (Multi-Search, Academic Search Ultimate, Business Source Ultimate, etc.)

ProQuest

SAGE

RefWorks and other Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools allow you to collect references and links to content from multiple library databases and the open internet together in one place. They will also assist you with the creation of citations and bibliographies. These tools are sometimes more complex than the ones that are built into a database, but they can be valuable when you are working on projects that draw from a number of resources.

RefWorks

RefWorks This link opens in a new window is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool that is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

PowerNotes

PowerNotes This link opens in a new window is a productivity tool designed to make research more efficient and improve writing. The PowerNotes Chrome extension allows you to save, annotate, organize, and track any online source, including academic databases, and pdfs with a single click.

For more information, check out the Citation Management Tools page on our Citing Your Sources guide.