Companies and Competitors

Recommended Databases

The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research for finding company profiles and SWOT information:

Company Search

Use these resources to search for your company by name. Navigate to your parent company to find the most information.

Mergent ONLINE This link opens in a new window
In-depth public and private company profiles, financial information, and industry overviews. Includes Mergent EventsData, Mergent Horizon, and Investext. Read this FAQ for information on how to access and use Investext. Read this FAQ on how to access income statements and balance sheets in Mergent Online. Read this FAQ for information on Mergent Horizon.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers — which combines the best of the former Hoovers solution, insights-rich Dun & Bradstreet data, and the robust Avention OneSource platform — offers deeper insights on your most important industries, accounts, and contacts. It offers one-of-a-kind functionality to help you quickly analyze and understand companies at a level that was previously unheard of. SNHU’s subscription includes CRUSH and One Stop Reports. FAQ: Where can I find income statements and balance sheets? Please log out of D&B Hoovers when you are finished using the database. Note: Some users are reporting errors, such as requests for a password pop up when attempting to access from off-campus.
Please try clearing your browser's cookies/cache. Please also try a different browser.
MarketLine (Explorer) This link opens in a new window
Quality business reports including company profiles, market reports, industry outlooks and country economic and demographic conditions. To access data click "Explorer" under Cross Industry Intelligence Center.

Article Search

If your company is private, a subsidiary, or international, you may have more luck finding company information through article searches.

Business Source Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate includes news articles, peer-reviewed articles, case studies, country economic reports. It also includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, and interviews with executives and analysts.
ABI/INFORM Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
Business Insights: Essentials - Gale This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines and scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, and reports in business disciplines as well as company profiles, company histories and S.W.O.T analysis reports
Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of articles from the world's leading financial newspaper
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep archives and the latest stories. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures. The Company Dossier module also allows you to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present. Nexis Uni is the new platform to replace LexisNexis Academic, which has been phased out by the vendor.