Industry Description
The resources listed below will provide the quantitative and qualitative information you need to describe the automotive industry and your selected industry.
MarketLine
For the Project One scenario, you can use MarketLine industry reports to determine items like an industry's market value, which is related to its net worth. Use the database link below to access the MarketLine database. Once the database loads, change the drop-down menu in the search box to Industry Profiles instead of the default All Research and add in keywords such as hybrid, electric, or automotive to locate industry reports on this topic. Once you are on a results list, use the Geography filter on the left to limit it to the United States. Here are some examples of reports you can find in MarketLine that may be useful.
- MarketLine This link opens in a new windowQuality business reports including company profiles, market reports, industry outlooks and country economic and demographic conditions.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides industry reports with qualitative and quantitative information on the automotive industry and a wide range of other industries that you may choose to investigate.
Watch a video overview of the new IBISWorld interface This link opens in a new window.
On an Industry Report page, the left navigation menu will lead you to information sub-sections that will provide much of the information needed for your projects:
- Industry at a glance: Industry net worth, industry trends
- Industry performance: Industry net worth, outside factors
- Industry outlook: Sales trends, growth potential
- Products and markets: Sales by type of product or service
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowLargest web-based industry research provider covering over 13,000 domestic and international industries. Shapiro Library provides access to US Industry Market Research, IExpert Summary Reports, Business Environment Database, US Specialized Industry Reports and Global Industry Reports.
Statista
Statista provides a variety of quantitative information drawn from government, industry, and proprietary data sources. Some of this data is collected together into industry reports. Because the data in Statista comes from a range of sources, the information you find will vary by industry.
A variety of search techniques can be used, but combining a term that describes to your industry with one that describes the data you need using the term 'AND" works well.
For example, try searching : automobile AND sales.
One you have search results, use the navigation menu at left to select Statistics, Industry & country Reports, or other forms of information that may have value.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
National Automobile Dealers Association
The National Automobile Dealers Association tracks a range of industry-related statistics. Its Annual and Mid-Year Reports include total automobile sales by state.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
The U.S. Energy Information Administration's Light-Duty Vehicle Sales by Technology Type table provides data on the number of light vehicles sold in the United States by fuel type.
Trade Publications and Reports
Trade publications are industry-specific news resources that include articles authored by industry insiders intended for a professional audience. They provide an updated insight into specific industries that goes into beyond what would be of interest to the general public.
- Automotive News This link opens in a new windowThe leading North American automotive business trade publication.
- Ward's Auto World This link opens in a new windowFeature articles, commentary, business profiles, interviews, materials, design, legislation, technology and trends and news of note aimed at motor vehicle manufacturers, consulting and independent engineers and supplying industries.
- Automotive Industries This link opens in a new windowThe world's oldest trade magazine covering the global automotive industry; devoted to providing global coverage of all aspects of the automobile marketplace, with an emphasis on the people, products & processes that shape the industry.
- Axalta Color Popularity ReportAxalta Coating Systems is a coatings company that produces automobile paints. The company tracks automobile paint color trends and releases that information in an annual report.