Criminal Justice
Corrections
Corrections is the punishment and supervision of folks convicted of a crime. Scholars who study corrections aim to understand the positive and negative effects of current corrections practices, and how correctional systems can be improved. The following resources can help you narrow your topic, learn about the language used to describe topics, and get you up to speed on the major advancements in this field.
Rethinking Corrections by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781412970181Publication Date: 2010-01-29
Encyclopedia of Community Corrections by Call Number: Available Online (Click Title)ISBN: 9781412990837Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Professional Lives of Community Corrections Officers: the Invisible Side of Reentry by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781452242262Publication Date: 2013-11-07Specifically focused on community corrections officers (CCOs), this book enhances the understanding of how CCOs, and their work, are connected to a broader political, economic and social context. The book interprets what we know based on existing research to inform policy and the implementation of community corrections.
Corrections Databases
Research in corrections utilizes core Criminal Justice resources. You may find it helpful to search the following databases for your corrections topics or research questions.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field.
- HeinOnline Legal Databases This link opens in a new windowCore collection of current and historical law and law-related periodicals, classic books and reports. Includes government and political documents, such as World Constitutions, US Congressional Documents, the Federal Register and much more. Includes the HeinOnline Slavery in America and the World Collection (found within the UNC Press Law collection).
Corrections Journals
Corrections Subject Headings
You may find it helpful to take advantage of predefined subjects or subject headings in Shapiro Databases. These subjects are applied to articles and books by expert catalogers to help you find materials on your topic. The format of subject headings varies by resource.
Consider using databases to perform subject searches, or incorporating words from applicable subjects into your keyword searches. Here are some addiction subjects to consider:
- Corrections
- Corrections - Philosophy
- Criminal Justice -- Administration of
- Corrections (Criminal justice administration)
- Corrections -- United States
- Probation
- Prisons -- United States
- Prison Overcrowding
- Prison conditions
- Rehabilitation of criminals
- Imprisonment
Corrections Example Search
Not sure what you want to research exactly, but want to get a feel for the resources available? Try the following search in any of the databases listed above:
"criminal justice" AND (corrections OR incarceration OR prison OR rehab*)
Corrections is the main word used to discuss this area of Criminal Justice, but there are other related terms. To get a good sense of the topic we use OR boolean operators to tell the database any of the listed terms are relevant to our search. We use parenthesis to organize our search, and we stem or truncate the word rehabilitation with the asterisk to tell the database that any ending of the word, as long as the letters rehab is at the beginning of the word, will do. This way, the word rehabilitate and other related terms will also be included. Where one idea is described with multiple words (criminal justice) we enclose the words in quotation marks. This is called phrase searching and tells the database that these words are only relevant when they appear together and in that order.