Human Services & Advocacy
Within Criminal Justice, human services and advocacy focuses on helping folks navigate the criminal justice system. Research in this area focuses on public policy, juvenile justice, support systems and laws applicable to community life including abuse, education and emancipation. The following resources can help you narrow or build your topic, learn about the language used to describe human services and advocacy topics, and get you up to speed on the major advancements in this field.
Prisoner Reentry in the Era of Mass Incarceration by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781483316727Publication Date: 2014-10-30
The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781412988766Publication Date: 2012-08-10
Counseling Criminal Justice Offenders by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780761929345Publication Date: 2003-09-19
Social Justice, Poverty and Race by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9789042033948Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Human Services & Advocacy Databases
Research in human services & advocacy utilizes core criminal justice resources, as well as resources in sociology, psychology and law. You may find it helpful to search the following databases for your research, in addition to the core resources listed on the home page.
- HeinOnline Legal Databases This link opens in a new windowCore collection of current and historical law and law-related periodicals, classic books and reports. Includes government and political documents, such as World Constitutions, US Congressional Documents, the Federal Register and much more. Includes the HeinOnline Slavery in America and the World Collection (found within the UNC Press Law collection).
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep archives and the latest stories. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures. The Company Dossier module also allows you to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present. Nexis Uni is the new platform to replace LexisNexis Academic, which has been phased out by the vendor.
- PsycARTICLES - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowFrom the APA: a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology
Human Services & Advocacy Subject Headings
You may find it helpful to take advantage of predefined subjects or subject headings in Shapiro Databases. These subjects are applied to articles and books by expert catalogers to help you find materials on your topic. The headings you explore will depend on your topic and formatting and phrasing my vary by database.
Consider using databases to perform subject searches, or incorporating words from applicable subjects into your keyword searches. Here are some addiction subjects to consider:
- Domestic violence
- Abuse
- Juvenile delinquency
- Juvenile Offenders
- Restorative justice
- Criminal Law and Procedure
- Judicial Administration
Human Services & Advocacy Example Search
Not sure what you want to research exactly, but want to get a feel for the resources available? Try the following search in any of the databases listed above:
"criminal justice" AND (advoca* OR "human services")
We use the OR boolean operator to tell the database any of the listed terms are relevant to our search. We use parenthesis to organize our search, and we stem or truncate the word advocacy with the asterisk to tell the database that any ending of the word, as long as the letters advoca is at the beginning of the word, will do. This way, the word advocate, advocacy and other related terms will also be included. Where one idea is described with multiple words (criminal justice, human services) we enclose the words in quotation marks. This is called phrase searching and tells the database that these words are only relevant when they appear together and in that order.