Criminal Justice
Police Administration & Operations
Research in Police Administration & Operations includes topics like crime analysis, policy development, leadership and community policing. Researchers need to understand how different policy and police leadership choices can affect their departments and their communities. The following resources can help you narrow your topic, learn about the language used to describe topics in this area, and get you up to speed on the major advancements in this field.
Leadership and Management in Police Organizations by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781483353173Publication Date: 2016-10-21
The Move to Community Policing by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780761924722Publication Date: 2002-01-30
Community Policing in America by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780415953511Publication Date: 2006-05-30
Police Administration & Operations Databases
Research in Police Administration & Operations utilizes core criminal justice resources, as well as resources in law and leadership. You may find it helpful to search the following databases for your research, in addition to the core resources listed on the home page.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowThe SAGE Journals platform includes full text of scholarly journals from SAGE publications in many disciplines, such as, education, sociology, women's studies, criminal justice and business.
- HeinOnline Legal Databases This link opens in a new windowCore collection of current and historical law and law-related periodicals, classic books and reports. Includes government and political documents, such as World Constitutions, US Congressional Documents, the Federal Register and much more. Includes the HeinOnline Slavery in America and the World Collection (found within the UNC Press Law collection).
Police Administration & Operations Subject Headings
You may find it helpful to take advantage of predefined subjects or subject headings in Shapiro Databases. These subjects are applied to articles and books by expert catalogers to help you find materials on your topic.
Consider using databases to perform subject searches, or incorporating words from applicable subjects into your keyword searches. Here are some addiction subjects to consider:
- police administration
- police administration -- laws, regulations and rules
- police administration -- safety and security measures
- police administration -- investigations
- crime prevention
- police personnel
- public policy
- community safety
Police Administration & Operations Example Search
Not sure what you want to research exactly, but want to get a feel for the resources available? Try the following search in any of the databases listed above:
(police OR "law enforcement") AND (administration OR operations OR lead*)
We use OR boolean operators to tell the database any of the listed terms are relevant to our search. We use parenthesis to organize our search, and we stem or truncate the word leader with the asterisk to tell the database that any ending of the word, as long as the letters lead is at the beginning of the word, will do. This way, the word leader, leadership and other related terms will also be included. Where one idea is described with multiple words (law enforcement) we enclose the words in quotation marks. This is called phrase searching and tells the database that these words are only relevant when they appear together and in that order.