Criminal Justice
Counterterrorism
Counterterrorism research seeks to understand, prevent and respond to terrorist threats. This includes research and work in the area of law enforcement, judiciary, security, information sharing and crisis response. The following resources can help you narrow your topic, learn about the language used to describe counterterrorism topics, and get you up to speed on the major advancements in this field.
Terrorism and Political Violence by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781446272817Publication Date: 2015-03-14
Debating Terrorism and Counterterrorism by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781452226729Publication Date: 2013-04-01
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism, Second Edition by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781412980166Publication Date: 2011-06-15
Counterterrorism Databases
Research in counterterrorism utilizes core criminal justice resources, as well as some specialized resources. You may find it helpful to search the following databases for your counterterrorism topics or research questions, in addition to the core resources listed on the home page.
- International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThis database offers information on virtually every dimension of security and counter-terrorism. It provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. ISCTRC combines deep background from scholarly writings with expert commentary from a variety of organizations, agencies and publishers and timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum. Content includes nearly 3,000 full-text items from a variety of sources, including reports from Stratfor Analysis, Stratfor Forecasts, and Stratfor Geopolitical Diary and over 10,500 pertinent images.
Counterterrorism Journals
Counterterrorism Subject Headings
You may find it helpful to take advantage of predefined subjects or subject headings in Shapiro Databases. These subjects are applied to articles and books by expert catalogers to help you find materials on your topic.
Consider using databases to perform subject searches, or incorporating words from applicable subjects into your keyword searches. Here are some subjects to consider:
- Counterterrorism
- Counterterrorism - Government policy
- Terrorism
- Antiterrorism measures
- National Security
Counterterrorism Example Search
Not sure what you want to research exactly, but want to get a feel for the resources available? Try a search for counterterrorism in any of the databases above. This keyword is used often in research on this topic, so it's a great place to start.
We can use OR boolean operators to tell the database any of the listed terms are relevant to our search, for example: counterterrorism OR antiterrorism OR counterinsurgency. We use parenthesis to organize our search, and we stem or truncate words where multiple endings exist terror* with the asterisk to tell the database that any ending of the word will do. This way, the word terrorist, terrorism and other related terms will also be included. Where one idea is described with multiple words (criminal justice) we enclose the words in quotation marks. This is called phrase searching and tells the database that these words are only relevant when they appear together and in that order.