Research Guides: Graduate Student Research Guide: Find Video and Images

The Multi-Search

Search for books, articles, and more:

Video & Image Databases

Please see below for a list of databases where you can find videos, images, and other types of multimedia. Some databases contain only these types of materials while others contain multiple types of materials, so you may need to use limiters to narrow down your search to the type of material (e.g. images) you are looking for.

ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Please note that ARTSTOR is not available on mobile browsers/phones.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica - the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a customizable search of full-text articles and abstracts of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. You can select the EBSCO databases that you would like to search at the same time and click continue.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes the Archival Films & Newsreels Collection, Psychology, History, Business, & Economics, Science, Health & Medicine, Art, Political Science, and more! Films on Demand includes world-class online educational videos from PBS, The History Channel, TED, Films for the Humanities & Social Sciences, Frontline, NOVA, National Geographic, and more.
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Feature Films for Education offers hundreds of full-length feature films. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more. NOTE: This database does not work with Chrome. Please use an alternative browser (e.g. Firefox)..
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy Streaming Video offers a broad catalog of over 26,000 films from 800 producers, including Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, PBS, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources, Roland Collection, MVD, Seventh Art, Psychotherapy. net, Symptom Media, and many more. Kanopy also offers a free search service where they will help source any films you would like in streaming that are not currently in their catalog - this service is completely free. If you are using Internet Explorer and experience issues with this database, please use another browser like Firefox or Chrome.
Environmental Studies in Context - Gale This link opens in a new window
Formerly GREENR. Portal that covers the physical, social and economic aspects of environmental issues in articles, reports, and videos
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia with articles on visual arts from prehistory to the present day
Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
An online portal with original content [short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides] that can be used to explore children's and young adult books
TED: Ideas worth spreading This link opens in a new window
"Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world"