Skip to Main Content
Accessibility Information

Chicago Style: Basics

This guide is intended to help you learn what Chicago Style is and includes. This guide will help you cite sources and avoid plagiarism. The guide also includes examples of Chicago style and lead you to resources that can help you cite sources.

Primary Sources

Chicago Style does not have one specific format for citing primary sources. Rather, primary sources are cited according to the type of source that it is. A selection of common primary source types and their examples are listed below.

 

Film or Television Recordings

Note:

4. Star Trek, season 2, episode 15, “The Trouble with Tribbles,” written by David Gerrold, directed by Joseph Pevney, aired December 29, 1967, on NBC.

Shortened note:

10. Star Trek, "The Trouble with Tribbles."

Bibliography:

Gerrold, David, and Pevney, Joseph, dir. Star Trek. Season 2, episode 15. "The Trouble with Tribbles." Aired December 29, 1967, on NBC.

See section 14.165 This link opens in a new window of the Chicago Manual of Style for more examples.

 

Letters

Note:

5. Hiram Johnson to John Callan O’Laughlin, 13 and 16 July 1916, 28 November 1916, O’Laughlin Papers, Theodore Roosevelt Collection, Harvard College Library.

Shortened note:

7. Johnson to O'Laughlin, 13 and 16 July 1916, 28 November 1916, O’Laughlin Papers.

Bibliography:

O’Laughlin Papers. Theodore Roosevelt Collection. Harvard College Library.

See sections 14.127 This link opens in a new window and 14.128 This link opens in a new window of the Chicago Manual of Style for more examples.

 

Manuscripts

Note:

4. Minutes of the Committee for Improving the Condition of the Free Blacks, Pennsylvania Abolition Society, 1790–1803, Papers of the Pennsylvania Society for the Abolition of Slavery, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.

Shortened note:

15. Minutes, 15 April 1795, Pennsylvania Society.

Bibliography:

Pennsylvania Society for the Abolition of Slavery. Papers. Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.

See sections 14.127 This link opens in a new window and 14.128 This link opens in a new window of the Chicago Manual of Style for more examples.

 

Maps and Charts

List the cartographer (if known), the title of the map or a description, followed by scale and size and publication details or location of the map. If a map is an undated online map, include an access date.

Note:

7. Town of Concord; W. Concord P.O., 1892, 44 x 70cm, in Town and City Atlas of the State of New Hampshire (D.H. Hurd &  Co., Boston, 1892), https://www.davidrumsey.com/luna/servlet/detail/RUMSEY~8~1~30829~1150763:Town-of-Concord--W--Concord-P-O-.

Shortened note:

12. Town of Concord, in Town and City Atlas.

Bibliography:

Town and City Atlas of the State of New Hampshire. Boston, Massachusetts: D.H. Hurd & Co., 1892. David Rumsey Map Collection.

See section 14.135 This link opens in a new window of the Chicago Manual of Style for more examples.

 

Newspapers

Note:

1. "Ford Artisans Barred: Immigration Ruling on Men Here to Rebuilt Old House to be Appealed," New York Times, June 11, 1930, ProQuest.

Shortened note:

3. "Ford Artisans Barred"

Bibliography:

"Ford Artisans Barred: Immigration Ruling on Men Here to Rebuilt Old House to be Appealed." New York Times, June 11, 1930. ProQuest.

See section 14.89 This link opens in a new window of the Chicago Manual of Style for more examples.

 

Oral History Interviews

Oral histories are cited like interviews (see the Interviews page on this guide). For unpublished oral histories, the format would be as follows:

Note:

2. Benjamin Spock, interview by Milton J. E. Senn, November 20, 1974, interview 67A, transcript, Senn Oral History Collection, National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, MD.

Shortened note:

4. Spock, interview.

See section 14.108 This link opens in a new window of the Chicago Manual of Style for more examples.

 

Photographs or Illustrations

Note:

4. Steve McCurry, Afghan Girl, December 1984, photograph, National Geographic, cover, June 1985.

Shortened note:

6. McCurry, cover.

Bibliography:

McCurry, Steve. Afghan Girl. December 1984. Photograph. National Geographic, cover, June 1985.

See section 14.133 This link opens in a new window of the Chicago Manual of Style for more examples.

 

Sound Recordings

Note:

2. Harry S. Truman, “First Speech to Congress,” April 16, 1945, Miller Center of Public Affairs, University of Virginia, transcript and audio, 18:13, https://millercenter.org/the-presidency/presidential-speeches/april-16-1945-first-speech-congress.

Shortened note:

5. Truman, "First Speech to Congress."

Bibliography:

Truman, Harry S. "First Speech to Congress." April 16, 1945. University of Virginia: Miller Center of Public Affairs. Transcript and audio. 18:13. https://millercenter.org/the-presidency/presidential-speeches/april-16-1945-first-speech-congress.

See section 14.164 This link opens in a new window of the Chicago Manual of Style for more examples.