Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

Chicago Style: Basics

This guide is intended to help you learn what Chicago Style is and includes. This guide will help you cite sources and avoid plagiarism. The guide also includes examples of Chicago style and lead you to resources that can help you cite sources.

Newspapers


Print Newspaper Article

General Format:

2. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, “Article Title,” Newspaper Title, Date.

For Example:

2. Jason Sokol, “Which M.L.K. do we Celebrate?” The New York Times, January 16, 2017.

Shortened Note:

5. Sokol, “Which M.L.K." 

Corresponding Bibliography Entry:

Sokol, Jason. “Which M.L.K. do we Celebrate?” The New York Times. January 16, 2017.

See note ¹

 

Electronic Newspaper Article

General Format:

3. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, “Article Title,” Newspaper Title, Date, Database.

For Example:

3. Jason Sokol, “Which M.L.K. do we Celebrate?” The New York Times, January 16, 2017, Global Issues in Context.

Shortened Note:

6. Sokol, “Which M.L.K." 

Corresponding Bibliography Entry:

Sokol, Jason. “Which M.L.K. do we Celebrate?” The New York Times. January 16, 2017. Global Issues in Context.

 

Online Newspaper Article

General Format:

4. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, “Article Title,” Newspaper Title, Date, Section, URL.

For Example:

4. Jason Sokol, “Which Martin Luther King Are We Celebrating Today?” The New York Times, January 16, 2017, https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/16/opinion/which-martin-luther-king-are-we-celebrating-today.html.

Shortened Note:

7. Sokol, “Which Martin Luther King ."

Corresponding Bibliography Entry:

Sokol, Jason. “Which Martin Luther King Are We Celebrating Today?” The New York Times. January 16, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/16/opinion/which-martin-luther-king-are-we-celebrating-today.html.

 

Magazines


Print Magazine Article

General Format:

2. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, “Article Title,” Magazine Title, Date, page(s).

For Example:

2. Karl Vick, “The U.S. is Fighting on Two Fronts: the Real World and the Virtual One,” Time, June 29, 2015, 11.

Shortened Note:

8. Vick, “U.S. is Fighting," 12.

Corresponding Bibliography Entry:

Vick, Karl. “The U.S. is Fighting on Two Fronts: the Real World and the Virtual One.” Time. June 29, 2015.

See note ²

 

Electronic Magazine Article

General Format:

3. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, “Article Title,” Magazine Title, Date, page(s), Database/StableURL.

For Example:

3. Karl Vick, “The U.S. is Fighting on Two Fronts: the Real World and the Virtual One,” Time, June 29, 2015, 11.  http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asn&AN=103295997&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Shortened Note:

9. Vick, “U.S. is Fighting."

Corresponding Bibliography Entry:

Vick, Karl. “The U.S. is Fighting on Two Fronts: the Real World and the Virtual One.” Time. June 29, 2015. http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asn&AN=103295997&site=eds-live&scope=site.

 

Online Magazine Article

General Format:

4. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, “Article Title,” Magazine Title, Date, URL.

For Example:

4. Karl Vick, “The U.S. is Fighting on Two Fronts: the Real World and the Virtual One,” Time, June 29, 2015.  http://time.com/3926059/the-u-s-is-fighting-on-two-fronts-the-real-world-and-the-virtual-one/.

Shortened Note:

10. Vick, “U.S. is Fighting."

Corresponding Bibliography Entry:

Vick, Karl. “The U.S. is Fighting on Two Fronts: the Real World and the Virtual One.” Time. June 29, 2015. http://time.com/3926059/the-u-s-is-fighting-on-two-fronts-the-real-world-and-the-virtual-one/.

 

¹ See 14.191: Basic citation format for newspaper articles for more information.  Page numbers are usually omitted and there are several optional elements that can be included in citations including section number, section title, or edition name.

² See 14.188: Basic citation format for magazine articles for more information.