The bibliography entry text should be left-justified; if an entry is more than one line, indent the subsequent line(s) half an inch from the left margin. For more information, please see the CMOS 14.19: Notes and bibliography—an overview or 14.62: Format and placement of bibliography.
NOTE: The library's webpage doesn't show the hanging indent in our examples.
General Format:
2. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, “Title of Article,” Title of Journal vol#, no. # (Date): page(s).
For Example:
2. G. W. Bernard, “Henry VIII: ‘Catholicism without the Pope?’” History 101, no. 345 (April 2016): 201.
Shortened Notes:
10. Bernard, “Henry VIII," 202-3.
11. Bernard, 210.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Bernard, G. W. “Henry VIII: ‘Catholicism without the Pope?’” History 101, no. 345 (April 2016): 201-21.
General Format:
3. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, “Title of Article,” Title of Journal vol#, no. # (Date): page(s), DOI/StableURL.
For Example:
3. G. W. Bernard, “Henry VIII: ‘Catholicism without the Pope?’” History 101, no. 345 (April 2016): 201, http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/1468-229X.12230.
Shortened Notes:
10. Bernard, “Henry VIII," 202-3.
11. Bernard, 210.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Bernard, G. W. “Henry VIII: ‘Catholicism without the Pope?’” History 101, no. 345 (April 2016): 201-21. http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/1468-229X.12230.
General Format:
4. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA and AuthorFirstNameB AuthorLastNameB, “Title of Article,” Title of Journal vol#, no. # (Date): page(s).
OR
5. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA, AuthorFirstNameB AuthorLastNameB, and AuthorFirstNameC AuthorLastNameC, “Title of Article,” Title of Journal vol#, no. # (Date): page(s).
For Example:
4. Mario Graca Moura and Antonio Almodovar, “Political Economy and the ‘Modern View’ as Reflected in the History of Economic Thought,” European Journal of the History of Economic Thought 23, no. 1 (February 2016): 61.
Shortened Notes:
12. Moura and Almodovar, “Political Economy,” 63.
13. Moura and Almodovar, 62-3.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Moura, Mario Graca and Antonio Almodovar, “Political Economy and the ‘Modern View’ as Reflected in the History of Economic Thought.” European Journal of the History of Economic Thought 23, no. 1 (February 2016): 59-81.
General Format:
6. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA and AuthorFirstNameB AuthorLastNameB, “Title of Article,” Title of Journal vol#, no. # (Date): page(s), DOI/StableURL.
OR
7. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA, AuthorFirstNameB AuthorLastNameB, and AuthorFirstNameC AuthorLastNameC, “Title of Article,” Title of Journal vol#, no. # (Date): page(s).
For Example:
6. Mario Graca Moura and Antonio Almodovar, “Political Economy and the ‘Modern View’ as Reflected in the History of Economic Thought,” European Journal of the History of Economic Thought 23, no. 1 (February 2016): 61.
Shortened Notes:
12. Moura and Almodovar, “Political Economy,” 63.
13. Moura and Almodovar, 62-3.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Moura, Mario Graca and Antonio Almodovar, “Political Economy and the ‘Modern View’ as Reflected in the History of Economic Thought.” European Journal of the History of Economic Thought 23, no. 1 (February 2016): 59-81. http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/09672567.2013.825000.
General Format:
8. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA et al., “Title of Article,” Title of Journal vol#, no. # (Date): page(s).
For Example:
8. Jeffrey L. Godwin et al., “Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I Have a Dream" Speech as a Tool for Teaching Transformational Leadership and Vision,” Journal of Organizational Behavior Education 4 (2011): 23.
Shortened Notes:
14. Godwin et al., “Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s," 40.
15. Godwin et al., 35-7.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Godwin, Jeffrey L, Jeffrey D. Houghton, Christopher Neck, and Eric C. Mohan. “Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I Have a Dream" Speech a s a Tool for Teaching Transformational Leadership and Vision.” Journal of Organizational Behavior Education 4 (2011): 23-41.
General Format:
9. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA et al., “Title of Article,” Title of Journal vol#, no. # (Date): page(s), DOI/StableURL.
For Example:
9. Jeffrey L. Godwin et al., “Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I Have a Dream" Speech as a Tool for Teaching Transformational Leadership and Vision,” Journal of Organizational Behavior Education 4 (2011): 23. http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bsu&AN=73466839&site=eds-live&scope=site.
Shortened Notes:
14. Godwin et al., “Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s," 40.
15. Godwin et al., 35-7.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Godwin, Jeffrey L, Jeffrey D. Houghton, Christopher Neck, and Eric C. Mohan. “Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I Have a Dream" Speech as a Tool for Teaching Transformational Leadership and Vision.” Journal of Organizational Behavior Education 4 (2011): 23-41. http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bsu&AN=73466839&site=eds-live&scope=site.
