Writing & Presentations
Citing Business Sources
SB 100 & 105 Company Websites
Welcome to the Foundations of Business Research Guide!
This guide is designed to assist you in finding library and other credible resources for business research. The Getting Started page provides the resources we recommend for students in SB 100 Integration and Application I and SB 105 Integration and Application II.
These Getting Started resources are a good starting point for research in any business discipline. To dig deeper into any subject, click on the links below to see specialized resources that cover those topic areas.
We also provide links to resources that will help you better understand the various types of business information you will find, tips on the writing process, and sample APA style references for business resources.
Company Information
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowD&B Hoovers — which combines the best of the former Hoovers solution, insights-rich Dun & Bradstreet data, and the robust Avention OneSource platform — offers deeper insights on your most important industries, accounts, and contacts. It offers one-of-a-kind functionality to help you quickly analyze and understand companies at a level that was previously unheard of. SNHU’s subscription includes CRUSH and One Stop Reports. FAQ: Where can I find income statements and balance sheets? Please log out of D&B Hoovers when you are finished using the database. Note: Some users are reporting errors, such as requests for a password pop up when attempting to access from off-campus.
Please try clearing your browser's cookies/cache. Please also try a different browser. - Mergent INTELLECT This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. This database also includes Hoovers and Key Business Ratios with First Research. Read this FAQ about how to access and use First Research.
- MarketLine This link opens in a new windowQuality business reports including company profiles, market reports, industry outlooks and country economic and demographic conditions.
- Business Insights: Global - Gale This link opens in a new windowFor business professionals, entrepreneurs, students, and general researchers, Gale Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, usable context. This database includes case studies. Watch this video overview of Business Insights: Global.
- Mergent ONLINE This link opens in a new windowIn-depth public and private company profiles, financial information, and industry overviews. Includes Mergent EventsData, Mergent Horizon, and Investext. Read this FAQ for information on how to access and use Investext. Read this FAQ on how to access income statements and balance sheets in Mergent Online. Read this FAQ for information on Mergent Horizon.
Industry Information
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowLargest web-based industry research provider covering over 13,000 domestic and international industries. Shapiro Library provides access to US Industry Market Research, IExpert Summary Reports, Business Environment Database, US Specialized Industry Reports and Global Industry Reports. Watch a video overview of the new IBISWorld interface - please note that due to our authentication model personalization features are not available. The IBISWorld classic interface will be available until mid-2020. If you encounter a login page when accessing that link, please open it in a different browser.
- MarketLine This link opens in a new windowQuality business reports including company profiles, market reports, industry outlooks and country economic and demographic conditions.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowMintel offers market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market
Articles - Scholarly Journals, Trade Publications, News, Magazines
- Business Source Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Ultimate includes news articles, peer-reviewed articles, case studies, country economic reports. It also includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, and interviews with executives and analysts.
- ABI/INFORM Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowMajor source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
- NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Shapiro Library also subscribes to the current year of the Union Leader in color which includes ads
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep archives and the latest stories. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures. The Company Dossier module also allows you to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present. Nexis Uni is the new platform to replace LexisNexis Academic, which has been phased out by the vendor.