Diversity in the Humanities - IDS 400 - Diversity - Research Guides at Southern New Hampshire University

Humanities

If you were researching Mae Jemison and the Endeavour through the Humanities lens, you would think about how this topic relates to or has impacted human action or work. Consider the following questions that are reflective of humanities centric thought:

What role models or heroes did Jemison’s achievement reflect in terms of explorers, writers, leaders, and others who came before her? Who and what inspired her ambitions?
How has Jemison's legacy found expression in art, music, literature, entertainment and other humanistic fields in the time since her achievement?

Suggested Databases

The list of databases below are some options that you can look through for topics related to Jemison and the humanities. Before searching, let's strategize on constructing a few example searches.

Keywords and search strings might include:

Mae Jemison AND exploration
space exploration AND women AND art
pioneers AND achievement AND legacy

Arts & Humanities Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Please note that ARTSTOR is not available on mobile browsers/phones.
Humanities International Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of journals in the humanities, with full-text for approximately 1,200.

NASA and the Arts This link opens in a new window
On first consideration, the concept of NASA commissioning pieces of art may seem far-fetched. However, reflecting the tradition of the military’s art programs, NASA began commissioning artists to document and capture on canvas the drama of its missions.
Archival Collections - National Air and Space Museum This link opens in a new window
Our archival collections span the history of flight and include a wide range of visual and textual materials, including documents; photographs; motion picture film and video; and more than two million technical drawings.